Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These were exellent, easy and fast. I did refrigerate for a bit longer, though it wasn't neccessary. I sprinkeld them with red and blue sugar crystals because they were a 4th of July treat. The whole family loved them, though I dont think I cooled them long enough because some fell apart while taking them off the baking sheet, but I will make them agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I should have listened to the other reviewers. They practically WERE little bland cakes. I didn't even bother baking the rest of the dough. They tasted like bland pieces of biscuits or cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made these cookies in an attempt to use up some leftover buttermilk and I was very suprised how much my kids, ages 5 and 11 LOVE THEM!(Husband too!) They are grabbing for them more than they would chocolate chip cookies, they bake into little fluffy cakes, very simple. I substituted butter for the shortening and I also drizzled with powdered sugar icing and some colored sugar just to dress them up a little. I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
These cookies are great!!!! My family just loved them. They are very light and do puff up. Didn't change a thing. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We love this quick and easy soft, sweet cookie recipe. Yes they are like little cakes and that makes them wonderful!! You can add different flavors and spices. Try substituting yogurt for the buttermilk. Vanilla yogurt is my favorite but other flavored ones work too. Add some espresso powder (dissolved in a little water) and cocoa in the mix with a thin chocolate glaze for a yummy mocha treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
At first taste, they were like sweet bisquits. But after a few bites, I decided that I had to have another....and another. I did sprinkle some "sugar in the raw" on them rather than white sugar. Would I make them again though? Probably not, there are other cookies that I covet more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is over all a very good and easy cookie. They are not too sweet, and would work well with most additions (such as frosting, glaze, etc). They are a bit too cake-like for my preference, but that is a small issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good! I used real butter and added 1/4 tsp Cream of tarter. They are very cake like! Make sure to put a good amount of sugar on the top before baking to give it a cracked top. These are just like the amish bakery we used to have in the area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Perfect! I was looking for a soft, cake-like sugar cookie for the kids (like you find at the "supercenter") and these were perfect! I iced them and gave them sprinkles to decorate with. I did sub half of the shortening for butter to add richness. Thanks for the recipe! AWESOME! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
They weren't like any other sugar cookie you've ever had. I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States