Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used this substitution: Put 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar in measuring cup. Add enough milk to reach 1 cup mark. Let sit for 5 minutes, and then use the amount needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These were very moist and fluffy. My kids and father loved them. I thought they tasted a little to much like a biscuit because of the buttermilk but frosted they are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
more soft and fluffy then I wanted. I was looking for a chewy soft cookie. They did make great cupcakes which is what I ended doing with the dough. A little more buttermilk sugar and vanilla with 2 tsp baking powder and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Very excellent homemade cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORAKIART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was looking for a denser textured sugar cookie, and this one was kinda disappointing. very light, airy texture, however, my 3 and 4 year old liked them. I wouldn't make these again, still on the quest for a slightly denser, soft sugar cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiemommaZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My family and friends loved these cookies. I have baked these at least 4 times since the holiday season started. Look for whole buttermilk to use as it will give your cookies a little more weight as opposed to the low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Over all good recipie -- some what cake like , but just sweet enough and definitely is the fluffy type of sugar cookie. I colored extra sugar for christmas and poured on top of the cookie to give a little extra sweetness. My husband loves them ! Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow!. Just like the sugar cookies my Grandma used to make. Made just as instructed and frosted with vanillla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
this recipe is exactly what I've been looking for for my daughters. they love the lofthouse cookies at the local supercenter and these are as close as I've found. they are even better the next day and stay soft (cake-like) just how we like. These are not a cut-out cookie so we use another recipe for that. but these are awesome. I added extra vanilla and a 1/2 cup more sugar (I used powdered sugar for the extra but next time will try just granulated). Excellent recipe. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These cookies are my dad's favorite!!! We sprinkle a bit of sugar and cinnamon on top once they come out of the oven. Be sure to keep these in a sealed container so they stay nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These were exellent, easy and fast. I did refrigerate for a bit longer, though it wasn't neccessary. I sprinkeld them with red and blue sugar crystals because they were a 4th of July treat. The whole family loved them, though I dont think I cooled them long enough because some fell apart while taking them off the baking sheet, but I will make them agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States