Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I loved the cake like texture! Unfortunately, I ran out of powdered sugar, so I couldnt make a frosting... but everyone still loved them.I think these would also be great with some homemade ice cream, definately best with something on them,rather than plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Thought I would never find a recipe like my mothers.Had these every year for christmas sprinkled with colored sugar. Thanks for the memories they are perfect for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and my cookies have turned out like small pancakes both times. They were very tasty and didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These are a very good, traditional chewy sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I love sugar cookies so I doubled this recipe and quite frankly as followed these cookies are extremely bland. I salvaged the remainder of the batch by adding 1/2c. more sugar, 1tsp. cream of tartar, 1/2c more flour and rolling them in cinnamon/sugar to create snickerdoodles. Those I thought were edible. I didn't touch the rest of the sugar cookies I had remaining, but my husband and son seemed to think they were o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used this substitution: Put 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar in measuring cup. Add enough milk to reach 1 cup mark. Let sit for 5 minutes, and then use the amount needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These were very moist and fluffy. My kids and father loved them. I thought they tasted a little to much like a biscuit because of the buttermilk but frosted they are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
more soft and fluffy then I wanted. I was looking for a chewy soft cookie. They did make great cupcakes which is what I ended doing with the dough. A little more buttermilk sugar and vanilla with 2 tsp baking powder and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Very excellent homemade cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORAKIART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was looking for a denser textured sugar cookie, and this one was kinda disappointing. very light, airy texture, however, my 3 and 4 year old liked them. I wouldn't make these again, still on the quest for a slightly denser, soft sugar cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiemommaZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My family and friends loved these cookies. I have baked these at least 4 times since the holiday season started. Look for whole buttermilk to use as it will give your cookies a little more weight as opposed to the low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States