Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
After following the recipe exactly, these "cookies" tasted much more like sweet biscuits than cookies, let alone sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I just made these cookies and they are really the best drop sugar cookies I've ever made. I did have to use fat free milk in place of the buttermilk but it didn't seem to make much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynned

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Just what I was looking for - and for them to turn out as well as they did with the changes I had to scramble and make, a 5 star recipe all the way! Didn't have as much butter flavor Crisco as I thought, so had to do half Crisco, half butter. Ran out of white flour (which never happens!) and had to substitute a cup of whole wheat flour. Didn't read head to notice that they needed to chill and had a house of 6 hungry 5-8 year olds, so I just put in the oven immediately on an ungreased cookie sheet. They turned out great. Nice subtle flavor, lovely soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were quick enough to throw together and baked up nicey. I chose to use colored sugar instead of white. If I try these again, I may skip the sugar and add frosting, since the cookies just seemed to need a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Yes cake like.. they are very good, even plain! ..but I did put a dollup of icing on mine. Wowzers, these are yummy! Followed recipe exactly... but I did make my own buttermilk with skim milk & lemon juice, no prob's here on how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Didn't turn out and had no flavor, double checked the recipe and I did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made these cookies a few times over the holidays and they were very good. I didn't sprinkle them with sugar but I frosted them with white icing and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have made other Molasses Cookies but none of those recipes come close to this one. I added added butter half shortening. Instead of the original half cup of shortening. I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and sugar on top of the cookie before baking. They are a soft and chewy cookies.. So delicious. When you bake these you can use half a teaspoon instead of a whole teaspoon to drop them. They spread out a lot. thanks for the great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was the exact consistency we were looking for! The first batch was a little more floury and I prefer more a tiny crisp on top of the cakey goodness. I adjusted the second batch by adding 1/3 c sugar and 2 min to bake time. Sprinkled with sugar before baking and...Perfect. Maintained the soft cakey feel and the floury taste was nowhere to be found. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My grandmother always made a soft cake like sugar cookie like this one. Was so glad to find this recipe. They are so good and if you are looking for a moist, soft sugar cookie this is one you should be happy with. The dough is so easy to work with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States