Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Yes cake like.. they are very good, even plain! ..but I did put a dollup of icing on mine. Wowzers, these are yummy! Followed recipe exactly... but I did make my own buttermilk with skim milk & lemon juice, no prob's here on how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Didn't turn out and had no flavor, double checked the recipe and I did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made these cookies a few times over the holidays and they were very good. I didn't sprinkle them with sugar but I frosted them with white icing and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have made other Molasses Cookies but none of those recipes come close to this one. I added added butter half shortening. Instead of the original half cup of shortening. I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and sugar on top of the cookie before baking. They are a soft and chewy cookies.. So delicious. When you bake these you can use half a teaspoon instead of a whole teaspoon to drop them. They spread out a lot. thanks for the great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was the exact consistency we were looking for! The first batch was a little more floury and I prefer more a tiny crisp on top of the cakey goodness. I adjusted the second batch by adding 1/3 c sugar and 2 min to bake time. Sprinkled with sugar before baking and...Perfect. Maintained the soft cakey feel and the floury taste was nowhere to be found. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My grandmother always made a soft cake like sugar cookie like this one. Was so glad to find this recipe. They are so good and if you are looking for a moist, soft sugar cookie this is one you should be happy with. The dough is so easy to work with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These fluffy sugar cookies are exactly what I've been looking for! My 4yr old daughter loves those soft cake like sugar cookies they make @ the "Super center" Bakery but hates the gobs of thick sweet icing they cover them in. No more scraping chunks of pink icing off to get to the cookie! Plus, they're quite simple to make, and seem to keep soft forever, and the dough freezes well for future cookies. They have just the right amount of sweet and Ive found them very versatile. They do resemble biscuits so they go fantastically with tea, or you can add various flavors to make varieties. Like using coco, espresso, cinnamon, or my favorite... cranberries. What ever you fancy! We substituted the fatty shortening w/ smart balance creamed butter. I made 2 batches to test the flavoring difference. The recipe was unaffected... in fact the smart balance batch had a fluffier texture. Ive passed this recipe on to all the moms @ our play dates. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've never been so disappointed with cookies before. The batter was too thin, and when they finished baking, they didn't seem cookie-like at all (it was just like cake batter). At first I thought they would be like the store-bought sugar cookies, but no, these aren't even cookies. I should have gone with the Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
didnt work for me the shortening curled up and the dough didnt come together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather74
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I really loved these, I added a little more flour but were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States