Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Fabulous cookies!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It came out softer then I thought. I liked them, but my kids didn't. I didn't like this after taste. I will try to make it with regular milk and add some sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
An average cookie. Nothing to get excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These turned out great! The only thing I changed was using butter instead of shortening. I also didn't chill the dough for the full hour, the dough firmed up quicker and I had no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A+. This is a recipe similar to one that is over 100yrs in my family and I was glad to find it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
After following the recipe exactly, these "cookies" tasted much more like sweet biscuits than cookies, let alone sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I just made these cookies and they are really the best drop sugar cookies I've ever made. I did have to use fat free milk in place of the buttermilk but it didn't seem to make much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynned

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Just what I was looking for - and for them to turn out as well as they did with the changes I had to scramble and make, a 5 star recipe all the way! Didn't have as much butter flavor Crisco as I thought, so had to do half Crisco, half butter. Ran out of white flour (which never happens!) and had to substitute a cup of whole wheat flour. Didn't read head to notice that they needed to chill and had a house of 6 hungry 5-8 year olds, so I just put in the oven immediately on an ungreased cookie sheet. They turned out great. Nice subtle flavor, lovely soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were quick enough to throw together and baked up nicey. I chose to use colored sugar instead of white. If I try these again, I may skip the sugar and add frosting, since the cookies just seemed to need a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Yes cake like.. they are very good, even plain! ..but I did put a dollup of icing on mine. Wowzers, these are yummy! Followed recipe exactly... but I did make my own buttermilk with skim milk & lemon juice, no prob's here on how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States