Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I would add a little more sugar, the original batch using the 1 cup the cookies were not old fashioned in my book. Easy and great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ethom2
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made this recipe but substituted light butter for shortening, organic milk for buttermilk and excluded egg since we have egg allergies in the family. It came out well and everyone enjoyed it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
this recipe looks very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Our family loves these. We have added them to our Christmas list of cookies. I just made triple recipe last week and now I am going to try using eggnog for the buttermilk and see what I get it. I bet they will be great also. I will sprinkle some with white crystal sugar and some with sugar/cinn. mixture. I love a great base recipe that you can try another thing with :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I have my dough chilling right now, I was out of butter so searched for a recipe using shortening; many reviewers added butter and gave it 5 stars. I have also been guilty for altering recipes so I won't act as the review police! lol but I do know that would affect the outcome much... Here are my substitutions: 3tsp baking powder for baking soda, sour cream blended w/milk for butter-milk and upped the vanilla by a tsp. to hide the extra baking powder taste. Hoping for the best here because I wanted some sugar cookies today! My plan is to add a powder sugar glaze; I have both maple and lemon extract so I may do both since I doubled this recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Love these cookies they were fast and easy to whip up and make. I didn't have buttermilk so I made a my own with a cup of reg milk and a tablespoon of lemon juice and let sit for 5 to 10 mins the longer it sits the better it will be. very good tasting cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla Albertson
Photo by DeniseM
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. On a recent trip to Lancaster, Pennsylvania my husband purchase a container of cookies at a Kroghers Grocery store. He says they're the best sugar cookie he's ever tasted. So with that I made it my mission to find the exact or close to recipe. This is it! One batch I made with vanilla extract and another with almond extract. Both batches I topped with sugar crystals. OH SO SOFT, CAKE LIKE AND YUMMY!! Will definitely make again and again. Perhaps with lemon extract....oh the possibilities. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used butter, skim milk, and splenda. I dropped them by tsps like the recipe said and they did not spread much. They had a good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Amazing cookies. Followed the recipe exactly. Iced them with "Shiny Cookie Icing"..adding about a 1/2 teas. of almond actract it. The only thing I'll do different next time is to make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchendoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deshler, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Taste like little cakes. We loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States