Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
My family is from West Virginia, my momma made this gravy every Sunday. We chop up the bacon, cut up our eggs and biscuits and mix it all together. Best breakfast ever,was just dreaming about it last night so I had to Google it. I haven't made it but one time myself and wasn't sure I could make it again but I can now! Mom never wrote down how to make it like a lot of the wonderful things she made and I now miss. She has Alzheimer's now an I am sorry I didn't ask her how to make her recipes. I am slowly finding them and learning how. Pay more attention to your commas so you can pass these great recipes down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is thoroughly delicious. Loved it. I do agree with the reviewer who said the ratio of flour:fat:liquid is off, it is. Takes too long to cook it down thick enough. But it does eventually thicken beautifully and makes a plentiful serving, so I wouldn't say it's "wrong" exactly. It's just slower. If it tastes burnt you probably used burnt bacon grease, it's not likely that the roux cooking time had anything to do with it - roux for gumbo cooks for nearly an hour before you add liquid, and while it can burn, 15 minutes is the correct amount of time to turn the roux a caramel brown. I followed this recipe to the letter and had a superior product - you can, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is very good. I took everyone's suggestion and used less milk - wrong! I started with a cup, then I added another half and I added a little more. Maybe they didn't cook the roux long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Love bacon gravy way better than sausage gravy. If your looking to try a little different take, try using one cup pet milk and one cup milk. Either way, you can't get any better than biscuits and gravy! This was a great recipe, one my mom made all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is how my momma always made gravy and taught me. The only difference is 1.) We don't measure - just guess and 2.) We don't cook the flour for 15 minutes, just a minute or two. You can use sausage grease as well and crumble cooked sausage in it for a nice sausage gravy too. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Way too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great gravy, but this recipe has errors so I couldn't give it a 5. First, it calls for twice the milk needed and would be very runny made as stated. 2 cups is plenty, 2-1/2 if you like it thinner. Also, I have never cooked a roux longer than 3-5 minutes. The reviewer who complained of burnt bacon taste should try greatly reducing roux cooking time, and stir constantly. As a general rule for nice, thick sauces made with a roux (fried flour) you should use a ratio of 2 tbsp. fat to 2 tbsp. flour per 1 cup of liquid. Stir constantly and have patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This tasted wonderful and was so creamy! I put in 3.5 cups of milk because I like my gravy a little thicker, and it turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tess DeFevers Ehling
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Its two cups of milk. If you want it to serve 6 its 1/2 cup of bacon renderings and 1/2 cup flour then it will work with the 4 cups of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess DeFevers Ehling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have never worked with bacon drippings before, and maybe it's just that I'm not used to that flavor, but I thought the gravy smelled awful while it was cooking, and I thought it just tasted like burnt bacon (I did not burn the bacon these drippings were from). After I seasoned it generously with salt and pepper and mixed in some crumbled bacon, it was better. Together with the biscuits it was good, but I'm still not sure if I like it or not. The kids absolutely loved it, so I'll probably give it another try and see if it grows on me. I just really found the burnt bacon taste to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States