Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Wonderful recipe Holly! I used more parm than called for, added some seasonings to the sauce and used fat free half and half in lieu of heavy cream. Everyone at my party raved about this very different version of Divan. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Awesome. Way better than the "quick" recipes and worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe was very yummy. I didn't have sherry, so I used white wine. However, I doubled the sauce because we like lots od sauce. I served this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I think the sherry is what makes this recipe separate from just a chicken cassorle (which is also great). My husband loves it so it must be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
It was very good, but I needed to alter it slightly because the sauce was a bit bland. I added 1/2 bar of shredded monterey jack cheese, and used part romano/part parmesan cheese. I also added some cooked carrots, and served it over pasta. The sherry was a nice touch. I'll make it again, with the changes, but not too soon since it was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go-red-sox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I usually make the quick version but decided to try this one. There definitely is a distinct difference between the two but I like both of them! The only change I made was to cut garlic bread into cubes and heat in a skillet to form toasted croutons, which I then used to top the divan before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
The real deal and worth the effort. If you note the other reviews, the ones with less than four or five stars all say that they substituted main ingredients (fried chicken?). Do us a favor and don't review if you make major alterations to a dish. Submit a new recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This is the REAL thing! Entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I used 1/2 and half instead of cream and added some garlic (2 cloves) and paprika. I also doubled the chicken and used the precooked perdue breaded cutlets. It was an OK dish but needed some extra spice. I think kids may like this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
We loved this dish, but I made modifications...I spread a layer of cooked fettucine on the bottom of the baking dish, before layering the broccoli on top, then spooned half the sauce on top of the noodles and broccoli. I baked the chicken first, seasoned with a pepper blend, cayenne pepper and onion powder, then sliced it into 1/4" slices to lay on top of the broccoli. The sauce by itself was bland, so I sauteed three cloves of minced garlic and a 1/2 cup of minced onion in cooking spray, then mixed it in with the sauce along with 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper! I replaced the heavy cream with 2% Evaporated Milk, and it was rich and creamy with very little fat! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States