Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This dish was wonderful! I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, with a few minor modifications (cooked dark meat instead of breasts, frozen broccoli instead of fresh). I accidentally added the Parmesan cheese to the entire saucepan of sauce, then poured it all over the top of the chicken at the end. It was AMAZING! Didn't add extra garlic or spices (which is rare for me) and it still had a wonderful taste! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Absolutely the way chicken divan should taste. If you don't LOVE this recipie you don't like chicken divan. Canned soup can't compare to a true cream sauce. Thanks for sharing a classic in a sea of shortcuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was a terrific base recipe and definitely not difficult or time-consuming. I pounded my breasts (the chicken that is!) just to even them out and salted, peppered and lightly floured them before I browned them in hot olive oil, then allowed them to rest and then sliced them. I also added one finely chopped shallot in with the butter. It was definitely heavenly. I will make this one again. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
So much better than cream soup version of chicken divan. Worth the extra effort. I substitute 1 cup shredded cheddar for the parm. - just my family's preferrance. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Easy recipe... I used leftover turkey and turned out great. I think I used too much turkey so I was alittle short on sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly - used low sodium chicken broth - and sauteed the chicken for about 5 minutes while waiting for the sauce to thicken (only because we were very hungry and wanted to speed up the process!) The cook time is 40 minutes before broiling (there was a discrepancy in the time - It said 40 minutes of cook time at the top and 20 minutes in the 4th instruction.) Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We did a little modification... we used whole chicken breasts, lightly floured and browned on both sides with butter. We also only par-steamed the broccoli - 2min in the microwave, before putting it all together. It made it less of a "casserole" and more of a full meal. delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was the first time I ever tried Chicken Divan, and I thought it was a bit bland. I wasn't too excited by the dish, but my husband really enjoyed it. I did add chedder cheese on top which made it enjoyable. It's a decent week day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is definitely much better than the other recipes I've tried! I wouldn't substitute the heavy cream for anything. I saute the chicken pieces with veg. oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder before adding. I also highly recommend sprinkling some nutmeg in the second half of cream sauce - DELICIOSO! Also, to cut down on time, I used frozen brocolli and it was just as good - the broccoli cooked all the way through in the 20 minute oven time. Serve over wild rice. This dish will surely impress your friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This dish didn't really do it for me. I didn't know how long to wait for it to thicken, and I ended up stirring for 30 minutes to have the same consistency as I had begun with. This turned into a very very thin, soupy, bland mixture that I had to eat with a fork and then a spoon. The effort put into the recipe was not at all worth the results. I'm not sure what I did wrong! :( Two stars because the flavor was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States