Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Without garlic, this recipe is quite bland. However, with garlic added, this is most certainly a five star recipe. The sauce is so smooth and wonderful! I add two or three cloves of garlic into my sauce. I saute my chicken in olive oil first, then add it to the mix. Also, I layer a box-worth of linguini on top of the broccoli, so you end up with an entire meal in one pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a huge hit. I kept true to the recipe and just added a topping for a little texture. To lower the fat content in the sauce I used fat-free 1/2 &1/2. For a little more flavor I sauteed a slice of onion (minced) and a clove of garlic (minced) in a little olive oil spray, and substituted 1/2t of season salt for the regular salt. For the topping I mixed together: 3T seasoned breadcrumbs, 2T french fried onions (crushed fine in a paper towel to soak up oil), 1T parmesan cheese and 1T bacon bits. Sprinkled it on top just before broiling phase and sprayed it with a little Parkay spray to help brown everything. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Five stars although of course I tweak recipes. I steam my broccoli until bright green & still al dente', I season chicken and bake on low oven temp for about an hour, cool, then pull apart in chunks. To save time, I buy one of those pre-jarred alfredo or parm cheese sauces & add to it a sm can of evap milk, extra parm & tbsp of flour wisked together prior to adding to other store bought sauce. I never have sherry so I add a splash of Worcestershire with a bit of grated nutmeg. I always use extra parm in my sauce as well, but that's a personal pref. I also add some garlic (fresh or powder) as it kicks it up a notch. Great basic recipe you can play around with! Oh, make sure Broccoli isn't real wet when assembling or sauce will be runny. Thanks for the post. Update: I prefer doing this recipe making the sauce, it's somewhat better than using the jarred sauce. Am considering getting some sherry to see what the taste difference might be in the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The sauce in this recipe is to die for. It sounds rich but it is actually quite light tasting. The sherry really adds a wonderful flavor. I think this would be great served over rice or pasta, but it was excellent on its own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very good alternative to canned(MSG) soup style divan. On the bottom of my casserole dish, I put some minute white rice and (uncooked) and chicken broth to cook it.Then layered according to the recipe.I sauted my chicken in butter and garlic. I added some red pepper to the sauce. I also used peas instead of broccoli(didn't have any) and half and half instead of heavy cream. I put shredded Mexican style cheese blend on top. It was delicious!!Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is basically the same recipe I have used for 15+ years. I use dry white wine instead of sherry. Brown the breasts in a little oil first. Dont parboil the broccoli, it cooks in the oven.. Sprinkle more cheese on top to brown. The real dish, no canned soup slop. Serve with glazed carrots, green salad and garlic bread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is wonderful. Followed the recipe as is but substituted half and half for heavy cream. So much better than any "add a can of soup" type casserole. Tastes light and fresh and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This dish was wonderful! I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, with a few minor modifications (cooked dark meat instead of breasts, frozen broccoli instead of fresh). I accidentally added the Parmesan cheese to the entire saucepan of sauce, then poured it all over the top of the chicken at the end. It was AMAZING! Didn't add extra garlic or spices (which is rare for me) and it still had a wonderful taste! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Absolutely the way chicken divan should taste. If you don't LOVE this recipie you don't like chicken divan. Canned soup can't compare to a true cream sauce. Thanks for sharing a classic in a sea of shortcuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was a terrific base recipe and definitely not difficult or time-consuming. I pounded my breasts (the chicken that is!) just to even them out and salted, peppered and lightly floured them before I browned them in hot olive oil, then allowed them to rest and then sliced them. I also added one finely chopped shallot in with the butter. It was definitely heavenly. I will make this one again. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States