Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Truly delicious as well as easy. Next time, I may add a *pinch* of nutmeg to the cream sauce. I heartily recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I used three breast halves, cut each is half lengthwise, rubbed with olive oil, salt and pepper and seared in a hot skillet to give them some color before turning down the heat and letting them cook through. I took another reviewer's advice and added my broccoli raw and it took too long to cook in the oven to the correct doneness. I should have followed the recipe and boiled it before adding to the dish. Also, I used an 7"x11" dish instead of 9"x13". This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I had a recipe for turkey divan years ago, and this was the closest thing I could find that didn't use canned soup and a big glop of mayo. I used leftover T-giving turkey, and combining this recipe with what I remembered from the original, I used powdered milk (instead of heavy cream) and just enough broth to make it a fairly thick consistency. It came out almost exactly like I remember it! Bonus points for ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was my solution to leftover under cooked roast chicken and it worked quite well. I had to substitute grated cheddar for the parmesan because that was what I had on hand and I omitted the sherry since I had none. The lack of sherry left the sauce sort of bland so I added about 1/8 tsp cayenne. I realize these are significant changes, but I believe this recipe is good enough to allow the cook to improvise and still produce Chicken Divan. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
awesome, just like my grandma made. I used white wine instead of sherry and it was still delish! Also, very easy! Bake it on top of rice, steamed the brocolli. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
this wasn't hard at all and tasted wonderful. i added elbow noodles. i made the recipe with milk instead of cream and had no problems. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is not a hard dish so I don't quite understand that it's "worth the effort". Very tasty and very easy. Steam the broccoli while sauteing the chicken. Then, cut up the broccoli, cut up the chicken and arrange in a cassarole dish. Make the sauce, pour it over the dish and heat through for 20 minutes... and Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My husband is weird about chicken and is always worried it's undercooked so I pan seared it & sliced it before hand. One thing that I reccomend is ignoring the step about setting the cooked broccoli aside until later because it got a bit dry sitting there. Next time I'll wait until the sauce is almost done before putting the broccoli into the pot. This way I can add it into the baking pan with the sauce and chicken. Let this dish sit about 10 minutes after removing it from the oven and the sauce will thicken perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Fantastic served over white rice! I used half & half (stopped buying heavy cream about 10 lbs ago haha) and added a dash of garlic powder. My sauce got too thick very quickly, I think I had the heat too high, I turned it down added a bit more broth and it was fine. I was in a hurry and didn't bake the dish. I just layered steaming hot rice, cold chicken (leftover rotisserie), the hot sauce, fully steamed fresh broccoli and more sauce in individual bowls and covered them for a min to let the temp even out before serving. Don't skip the sherry, thats what makes this SOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States