Old-Time Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a really good all around Buttermilk pie. Don't pay attention to the reviewers who think 2 cups of sugar is too much, it isn't. Buttermilk pie is supposed to be sweet, and it's best that way! The only thing i would do different for this recipe is cut back on the lemon a little. I don't like to taste the lemon in my buttermilk pie and I could taste it in this recipe. Still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Troutatoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Took it to a gathering of my husbands friends. It was a hit and dish came home empty. One I will pass down for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I had a premade crust and made the filling as the recipe calls. It was GREAT!! I will make this pie again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This pie is amazing (as a base). I gave it 4 stars because I only put little more than a cup of sugar, and it's sweet enough. I also put about 4 T flour and eye-balled the last 3 ingredients, as I am a vanilla fanatic. I used freshly-squeezed lemon juice as well (with no curdling). I made a different pie crust from this site. I just wanted to say though that this pie filling is wonderful. It's tangy, sweet, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyBakerBrittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This pie had a really good flavor it was sweet. I love sweet but this was really sweet. I will make this again as I always have buttermilk in the house. One thing I will try due to the age of this recipe. Sugar is very different now than it was in the 1800s early 1900s. Bought from the Caribbean or Africa it is more the natural sugar you can buy in health food stores or in ethnic speciality stores. I will lower the sugar down to around 1 cup or I may try this 1.5 cups natural sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Thought I'd give this a try to use up some buttermilk. I started to worry as soon as I put in the lemon juice, it all started to curdle. It didn't get smooth and "custardy" like I was hoping. Unfortunately this didn't work, even after trying it a couple different times. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I baked this pie and it was very, very delicious. My entire family enjoyed it especially my grand-children. Thanks again for such a wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I had some buttermilk I needed to use so I decided to give this a try; I didn't make the crust, just simply poured the filling into a glass pan. I only used 1-1/2 cups and sugar and 1/2 of the lemon juice. This was a really good pie, but even with the sugar reduction I still found it way too sweet, so if I make it again I will reduce the sugar even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Easy and everyone loved it. It was devoured b/w 5 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States