Old Southern Chocolate Pecan Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is the second time I've made this cake and it is the best chocolate cake I think I've ever tasted and I need thought I would say that with my moms sweet chocolate cake. It is sooooo moist and delicious you don't have to change a thing!!! Great recipe and thanks for sharing it with the rest of us!!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Guerriero
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
The cake turned out so moist and rich! so much chocolate! it's a really good cake that you should try :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Easy and goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy-Rhonda Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Death by chocolate...mmm!! I replaced the shortening with butter because I didn't have any shortening and it was still great. Next time I will poke holes in the cake before pouring the frosting on because a lot of it went to the sides due to the cake rising in the middle. I think the frosting will be distributed more evenly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It's amazing almost as good as earthquake cake!! I made it with my mom-Leo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made this cake yesterday and it's s excellent. Used a large kitchen spoon to mix it, didn't even have to take mixer out. I must say I found the cake to be heavy and dense. The kind that just sticks to the roof of your youth. The frosting was easy and quick and that was good too. Really the gooey kind that just runs all over the cake. Guess you can tell by now, WE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious! It was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This cake was simply fabulous. I made it for a family dinner and there wasn't a piece left and I was passing out recipes for this cake left and right. I just don't understand people who call desserts too sweet - desserts are sweet! I used real butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From The Land Of Shee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Leave it to the south to come up with cavity sweet, but crowd pleasing desserts! This is the poster recipe for that genre. Delicious! I did change the recipe, but only to fit my pantry. Here's what I did. Instead of 1 cup water, I replaced it with a cup of strong black coffee. Then I used all butter instead of shortening and margarine. I melted the butter in the coffee with 3 ounces of bitter chocolate instead of cocoa. Next for the liquid ingredients, I substituted plain yogurt for the buttermilk. Now for the icing: I once again replaced the cocoa with 3 ounces of bitter chocolate which I melted with the butter before adding the confectioners sugar. I cut the confectioners sugar down to 3 cups and used sour cream instead of milk. Finally, I toasted the pecans and spread them on half of the warm cake. That way I could offer the non-nut (blasphemy) side to those who do not like nuts. Then poured the hot icing over all. This cake is too die for! Or at least to blow your diet for!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the direction to a tee also. We get together on Monday evenings with friends and play cards. We all take turns making some sort of snack/eats and a dessert. I brought this cake up for everyone to try and they Loved it. I also had my fair share. This cake will definitely take care of a sweet tooth! I am going to bake another for this Memorial weekend. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!! Glen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Cast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morocco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States