Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I threw in some cooked chicken breasts and steamed broccoli to make it more of a casserole. and by the way, it makes a ton! so it's great to freeze for later lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, but halved it for one 9x13 casserole. The recipe was not as creamy as I anticipated it would be. The seasoning was good. For my family, I will use half the amount of cayenne next time. To add creaminess, I might add some half and half to the cheese mixture right before stirring in the macaroni. The best part of this dish was the amazing topping. So, yummy! I will make this dish again, and will try some variances to achieve a creamier consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was really yummy it makes a lot so we put some in a different container and put it in the freezer. I used Panko bread crumbs instead of chips for the top. I think next time I would add cut up cooked bacon the next time. But it was very tasty it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is. PERFECT! The mac to cheese ratio is just right. There is no need to add much salt if you top with the potato chip & cheese mixture. This was a big hit with my entire family, which includes 3 teenaged boys. My family likes spicy food, so I will add diced jalapenos to one of the pans, just to kick it up a notch, but I will leave one pan with the original recipe. Thanks for sharing such a hearty, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
First time making Mac and cheese as I grew up not liking it. Cut back on cayenne pepper and used a cheddar , Colby and Monterey Jack mix. Also used 1/2 ritz/pantko bread crumb mixture with some fresh parmigiana and smoked paprika. 2 helpings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
these were great one of the best tasting and the texture was fabulous will make this for guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe, nice heat to it. I added bacon n some of its grease to the milk/flour/cheese mix. Just cooked bacon in a pan like normal n crumbled it. I didn't have enough cheddar so along w it I used a fiesta blend. My hunny n I liked it n will b cooking it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Perfection! I've been hunting this recipes for years! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
There are two reasons I am rating this 4/5. First, it was a TON of work. 2nd, I'm more of a fan of the dryer mac and cheese recipes. I took it to a potluck and everyone was raving about how much they loved it, the flavor and the recipe itself is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepharoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Yum! Loved this dish! Skipped the potato chips and was really pleased with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States