Old Man's Turkey Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this soup! I boiled the leftover carcass of my Christmas turkey for several hours, removed the solids by using a strainer and had the 3 quarts of broth. In my stock pot, I sautéed the onion, celery and carrot, along with the spices and herbs in a small amount of olive oil until softened. Then added back in the broth and several cups of cut up white and dark meat. I brought to a boil then reduced heat and allowed it to simmer for about an hour before adding in the cooked noodles. Delicious and So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious substitute for chicken noodle soup. I saved the wings and legs of my Thanksgiving turkey to make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Perfect. Follow it to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loved the spices, delicious. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cinebar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've made this soup after Thanksgiving for 2 years now. Didn't change a thing, although I may add a bay leaf next time. This is the BESTEST turkey noodle soup I've tried and look NO further for a better one! My 28 yr old son's mouth waters while it's cooking; doesn't get better than that!!! - Barbara S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I wanted to make a turkey noodle soup with our turkey left overs and I used this recipe as my starter. Since I was using cooked turkey instead of drumsticks, I let the other recipes ingredients simmer in 8 cups of chicken broth for 30 minutes before I added the turkey meat. Once I added the turkey, I let that simmer for 40 minutes and added a bag of the frozen "homemade" noodles and happened to glance at their recipe for "chicken noodle soup" and theirs called for adding 1/2 cup flour with a cup of milk mixed together in a leak proof jar and poured into the broth as a thickener and to add 3 more cups of milk to the soup once the noodles had cooked for 30 minutes. It was oh so very yummy!! Saved this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made it last night and it turned out awesome. I only made minor tweeks. I added 2 packets of sodium free chicken bouillon to the water, and a reduced the salt, only used 1/2 a tablespoon instead of the original 1 tablespoon. I am not a lover of super salty soups. It was simple and delicious! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I always serve the carved turkey breast to my guests at Thanksgiving and save the drumsticks for soup. This year I tried this recipe and I will be sticking to it from now on. The vegetables and spices combine just perfectly for that cozy comfort-food feeling. Followed the recipe exactly, except for adding an extra clove of garlic because I love the stuff. I'm sure it would have tasted just as good as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
...and then I wept. Boy, I do NOT like messing with a turkey carcass (which I used instead of drumsticks) but to have just one sip of this simple soup makes it all worth it. Such a classic wonderful taste. Can't wait to be done with Thanksgiving so I can make it this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I enjoyed this. Great way to use up the left over smoked turkey we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States