Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I would give this more stars if I could! This is now our staple meat sauce. It may take a little while, but it is more than worth it! A+++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Excellent! Cut recipe in half and found it quite tasty! Added in more garlic though and used crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Have my whole familly on this sauce now :P Well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
excellent. I aded some red pepers like it hot, dont be affraid to try it.... best I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENALLJR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Made this the night before serving it. Worked out so much better. Hearty and tasty. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Simply terrific!! I'm from a long line of great Italian cooks, but I haven't been one of them. My sauce was never as good as "the grandmas", but since I tried this recipe, thats all changed, everyone loves it, (including grandma)now I get to make the sauce every Sunday. Only change I made was I use 2 cups of red wine instead of 3. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This sauce was great, exactly what I was looking for. I subbed in some ground Turkey to make it a little healthier, and added some sugar and nutmeg to the sauce which really rounded out the flavor and made it truly delectable. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Very good basic sauce, open to endless personal variations. I found it excellent for all types of pasta. Make sure to use a good red wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This is truly an authentic recipe. My family enjoyed the unique flavor. Keep in mind, however, the taste of wine is powerful. A recipe you should avoid if you are do not like wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
My husband and I thought this recipe was good. Very meaty and thick! One word of caution, if you don't like the smell and flavor of red wine it's not for you. Even after being fully cooked down and 3 full days of the flavors blending the wine taste and smell was still strong with your first few bites. (until you get used to it again) We only made it once so it's possible that a wine less body would be al that is needed. Thanks for giving us this new recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States