Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
when I'm in the mood for Italian food I love to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I give this one a five after I made some changes. I liked how the seasonings were in this, unique and fresh, I left out the rosemary and added fresh basil although I made sure not to add more basil than I did oregano. My sauce was a bit salty, so I added probaby 4-5 tsps of sugar, I think the saltiness comes from canned tomato. In the future I may use a can of crushed tomato which I think would create a consistency I prefer. For heat I added some sliced up italian sausage which I added raw to the sauce and let cook along with a little crushed red pepper. I used two cups of red wine, that was plenty. Simmer it an hour at night, and then leave it over night to simmer another few hours the next day. Went great over Rigatoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I would give this more stars if I could! This is now our staple meat sauce. It may take a little while, but it is more than worth it! A+++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Excellent! Cut recipe in half and found it quite tasty! Added in more garlic though and used crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Have my whole familly on this sauce now :P Well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
excellent. I aded some red pepers like it hot, dont be affraid to try it.... best I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENALLJR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Made this the night before serving it. Worked out so much better. Hearty and tasty. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Simply terrific!! I'm from a long line of great Italian cooks, but I haven't been one of them. My sauce was never as good as "the grandmas", but since I tried this recipe, thats all changed, everyone loves it, (including grandma)now I get to make the sauce every Sunday. Only change I made was I use 2 cups of red wine instead of 3. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This sauce was great, exactly what I was looking for. I subbed in some ground Turkey to make it a little healthier, and added some sugar and nutmeg to the sauce which really rounded out the flavor and made it truly delectable. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Very good basic sauce, open to endless personal variations. I found it excellent for all types of pasta. Make sure to use a good red wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States