Old Irish Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I added slightly less butter and left them in the oven for an hour. They needed a little time to "set-up", so I left them on the counter for about 15 minutes before serving. They were really good with our corned beef on St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
For us these were not tasty enough to justify the calories - they need finely diced or sliced onion for sure - maybe a paprika seasoning between the layers. As is these were nothing special to write home about. Thanks for sharing - they have potential but need a bit of tweaking to bring them up to their potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These really are old irish, my great grandmother used this recipe. As you say, what ever you have on hand! She made these for any big meal with the family, if she had extra cheese, extra ham scraps, a bit of bacon, it went in! Green onions in spring too! Every time she made them, they were different, but this is the basic idea of this recipe! If she didn't have cream, she made a basic white sauce with milk and butter and used that, but usually she made them when she had extra cream from the farm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good but I layered the potatoes with thin onion slices and grated cheddar cheese. I then combined melted butter, 1/2 & 1/2 and a small pour of sherry which I then poured over the layered potato mixture. Baked at 400 for 45 minuets. Got raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Not all of my family likes scalloped potatoes, so I cut this recipe in half, and substituted 2% milk for the cream. In my covered casserole dish, the potatoes cooked through in about 30 minutes. Although they fell apart more than I expected (next time I will slice a little thicker, by hand, rather than using the slicer) they were delicious (although a bit too buttery for my taste). I ended up sprinkling with some shredded jack cheese and adding a bit more milk to make more of a sauce. This will definitely be added to my regular side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe, and like other members, I made a few changes for our taste. I layered the potatoes with sliced butter, salt, pepper, onion powder, cooked chopped bacon, cheese, a mixture of 1/2 heavy whipping cream and 1/2 milk on each layer. I made two layers using 5 smaller russett potatoes sliced thin. I used the recommended amount of butter but feel I will use 1/2 of that next time (1/4 cup). This recipe is not for calorie concious! But it is amazingly delicious! I only gave it four stars by itself as written... changes made to the recipe really made it five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe as is for a side dish! The second time I made it I added ham, chili powder, ginger, smoked paprika,cayenne pepper and made it into a main dish. Spectacular!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Bake time is GROSSLY understated. Needs 90 minutes....not 20! Add some salt Use shredded not sliced cheese. Add some rosemary for flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really good potato dish-i will definiely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
They were really good. My sliced potatoes were sticking to each other, so next time I will probably try cubes. Other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States