Old German Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I guess it's just me, but I didn't like them much. Maybe I just don't like honey cookies? I received good feedback from everyone that ate them, however. Two people said they were "very good" and proceeded to devour them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The milk was more appetizing than the cookies. I decided to follow others' reviews and change sugar to 1/2 c and honey to 1.25 c, and I added Cinnamon and Nutmeg. The first batch came out near tasteless, and my mother suggested adding chunks of apple to the batter. The apple made it a bit better, but I still didn't like them. If I'd kept to the original sugar and honey amounts (and perhaps upped the spice amounts, and changed the shortening to butter), MAYBE they would have turned out better. My parents and little sister all said they were "not bad," but I get the feeling they were just being polite. I will never make these again. *ALSO: I at first followed the advice of one user suggesting to wait until they were just a bit golden brown on the TOP, however mine never browned on the top. As a result, my first 9 cookies came out burnt. If your tops aren't browning, use the edges as a guide. If brown is just starting to peek out, they're done. Mine went for 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Photo by bluegrrl_87
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Strong honey flavor, and thats exactly what i was hoping for. slightly cakey. I rolled them in sugar before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
pretty yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe was absolutely sweet and delicious! I made this recipe for my friends and we all enjoyed it. In fact, almost everybody asked if they could have another. My family had some as well and they thought it was great too. The taste reminds me of tea with honey. It was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Tasty! Just don't overcook them. I had to make a few changes due to lack of ingredients: sub oil for shortening, halved the amount of sugar because the honey I have is already loaded with sugar, added just a touch of cinnamon, a pinch of salt, and I didn't have vanilla. Still came out great! The dough was a sticky challenge, but the cookie was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
My daughter and I made these for her German class and they were super easy to make and tasted really good. Perfect cookie to go with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystache
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
You definately have to wait for it to cool down before eating them. They come out fluffy and almost like a whoopie pie. (Also adjusted it to 1 1/4 c honey, 1/2 c sugar) I let it sit in the fridge overnight and scooped them small. They smell wonderful, taste okay, but I wanted a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made these for a cookie exchange and did the math wrong on multiplying the recipe. I made way too many cookies, but that turned out ok. I took them to work and people raved about them. They have a very interesting taste, in a good way. Not too sweet. I subbed 1/4 cup honey for 1/2 cup of sugar. (Less sugar, more honey) and 1/3 of the shortening required was subbed by butter. I am so thankful this was a drop cookie recipe, I don't think I could have rolled 8 dozen balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
these were good cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States