Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have to say...I detest soy sauce & was skeptical. This is quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe to "use up" what you have on hand, very versitle and forgiving. I was in the mood for a veggie-filled, meatless soup, and this fit the bill perfectly. I had some serious tweaks to use what I had on hand, no canned tomatoes, but I did have a 15 oz zucchini with tomatoes, and a fresh one, which I diced. I also added two diced potato, a small can of peas, and some broken thin spaghetti. Also added a sprinkle or two of garlic powder and celery salt in place of plain salt. This was delicious and satisfying. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Plenty to go in the freezer for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This soup was very good. I followed the instructions, although I accidentally reversed the measurements for the soy sauce and Worschestire. Still tasty, though. Like most people have done and will do, I added extra veggies, meat, potatoes, and alphabet pasta. If you are adding extra ingredients to the soup, I suggest increasing the amount of broth. Our soup ended up more like stew after all of the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This soup is fantastic. I made a few changes. I used 2 Tbsp. olive oil instead of the butter and added 1 potato, 1 zucchini, and 1 tsp oregano. I used vegetable broth instead of beef and with all the soy sauce there is no need for additional salt. Other than that I followed as written and it is fantastic and easy and very flavorful. My hubby loved it!! Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
before making this soup, I read all the reviews. I followed the advice of cutting the soy and Worcestershire sauce in half, and I am glad I did. the whole amount would have been too much for my family. followed the rest of the recipe but added some corn, and green beans. and 1/2 a 16 oz box of alphabet pasta, which my kids loved. will be making again. I think you could add whatever vegetables you like and it would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I had some fresh tomatoes that needed to be used so I used the equivalent amount of fresh as indicated for canned. I simmered this covered and needed about 40-45 minutes for the carrots and celery to get tender. I also cooked a cup of pasta separately and divided it among the 6 servings. This is a good, basic veggie soup with lots of room for customizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used vegetable broth instead of beef because that is what I had, added a diced Russett potato, and a teaspoon of oregano. Everyone loved it oncluding my neighbor. I make this soup all the time and have passed it along to my relatives. Great job Shelly, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I added a can of red kidney beans, a couple handfuls of frozen green beans a 1/4 lb of fusilli pasta. It is a little strong on the soy sauce so next time I may only do 2 tbsp. It tastes a lot like my mom's minestrone soup! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought I would like this soup but I didn't. I don't think my family was impressed by it either. I added orzo pasta to make it a little heartier but it didn't help. I didn't like the flavor of the soy and worceshire sauce. It just gave it an odd taste in my opinion. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States