Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This recipe is very good and quick to make. It was a bit salty to our taste, possibly due to the canned broth I used, so next time I will reduce the salt. Also, I would use diced tomatoes instead of whole to blend in better and not have large chunks of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Spices just right for my family. We like a heartier soup so I just added a diced white potato, can of yellow corn, cup of frozen green beans and 1/3 cup of alphabet pasta for my youngster--it was delicious on a snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
LOVED IT, will make again. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole peeled. I used 2T of Tamari instead of the soy sauce, as i was afraid, but will put the full 3T in next time. I also added one each of: sweet potato, white potato,1/2 cup of pumpkin puree,extra carrots, used olive oil instead of butter, and veggie broth instead of beef. Was excellent, and my new favorite for veggie soup. I also cooked some small pasta shapes (animals,stars,tubes,letters,etc.) separately and added them to the bowls and ladled the soup on top. with leftovers i kept the pasta separate so it wouldnt be mushy. YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Overall this was a pretty good soup and my husband loved it, but I did make a few alterations. I added 2 potatoes, garlic powder, extra celery and carrots, kidney beans and oregano and it was very good. It reheated very well without getting too thick and made enough to last the two of us 3 days for lunches and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I used to serve a group of 15. Everyone loved it. I make it often. It is also delicious by adding nutritous black beans. Also seems to enhance the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This soup was DELICIOUS! I did reduce the soy sauce to 2 tablespoons, because 3 seemed a little much to me (I was glad I did) and used diced tomatoes in place of the whole (made more sense). Also, I just used salt to taste and not the entire teaspoon called for. I added in one diced zucchini and a few diced potatoes because they needed to be used up. When it was almost done, I added about 1 cup of small shell pasta and simmered until done, just to make it a little more hearitier. This made a really nice sized pot of soup. Two thumbs up from all of us and a definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This soup is wonderful and oh so easy. Very good for a snowy winter's night. I added some corn and a can of green beans to the basic recipe. I was skeptical about the soy and worchester sauce but the flavor is so good! I'm sure the leftovers will be even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I subsituted vegetable stock for the beef stock, and added potatoes to the pot. It turned out really delicious. Sidenote - I had to double the amount of salt and spices to kick up the flavor. This was my first attempt at soup making and my roommates were very impressed. Thanks, Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
My first time making homemade soup was successful because of this recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, made from bouillon cubes, and it tasted great. I also added 2 cans of mixed vegetables (green beans, peas, beans, carrots) and 1 can of Green Giant Niblets. I can't imagine a vegetable soup without them! Overall, a good recipe - just needs a little work to taste like Grandma's! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought I would like this soup but I didn't. I don't think my family was impressed by it either. I added orzo pasta to make it a little heartier but it didn't help. I didn't like the flavor of the soy and worceshire sauce. It just gave it an odd taste in my opinion. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States