Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I have a feeling that with practice, I will be rating this higher!! It came out very dry for me. I've never made my own stuffing before, though, either, so I have a feeling that was the fault of the cook. I love the taste, however!!! I stuffed some in a chicken, and baked the rest. I liked the flavor of the stuff in the chicken more. I am going to keep trying this until I get it right!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I used rye bread and added mushrooms for a twist. It really gives it that extra flavor everyone says this stuffing is missing. It's been a favorite of my entire family for years. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Not sure what I did wrong, but this did not turn out too well. It was very dry and hard after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great recipe! I made it for a Christmas dinner for friends here in Japan who had never had turkey or stuffing before, and they loved it! I didn't have sage, so I used rosemary instead. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was my first attempt at making home made stuffing and it turned out well. I used home made bread and had to add twice as much chicken broth as it called for. I also added a little poultry seasoning and thyme to spice it up a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Good basic stuffing. I used brownberry seasoned bread cubes. I cut the recipe down to serve 6 and stuffed a perdue oven roaster with it. Since I scaled the recipe down, I omitted the egg, which would have been 1/2 of an egg, so my allergic baby could enjoy some as well...and he did ;) Thanks Lynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a good starter recipe for homemade stuffing - the hardest part is prepping. The end result is good, but lacking substantial flavor. We added 1 cup more chicken broth and upped the dose of sage. (The called-for liquid amount is already too low, so more chicken broth makes the bread more moist and flavorful.) It's hard to give up Stove Top, but making your own is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous! Came out perfect! I used double the butter and cut back on the broth... ummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used this recipe because it sounded SOOO very similar to the stuffing recipe my parents made EVERY holiday when I was growing up. I have since lost that recipe but was having my mother over for Thanksgiving and wanted things to be just right. She LOVED the stuffing and thought it was a FABULOUS recipe. That comment from a woman who has cooked her fair share of Thanksgiving feasts. What a compliment! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I gave this recipe 5-stars because it is exactly what it says: old fashioned stuffing. Like Grandma's. With that said, some people might find it somewhat unspectacular for exactly that reason. I did add some poultry seasoning in addition to the sage that was called for in the recipe after tasting the final mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States