Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I also altered this recipe. I baked it inside turkey, used celery carrots little but of chopped dill, couple loafs of bread (rite off shelf) Campbell's chicken broth, onions n whatever other veggies I had. Chop all veggies into tiny pieces In a frying pan place onion, celery , and other veggies. Couple tbsp of butter. Add oil fry veggies and add spices to veggies...again I used what ever spices+ onion garlic seasoning salt Italian spice whatever....once fried add 1/3 chicken broth and add bread pieces either cut or rip into pieces add to pan. Stir mix add more spices ...add more broth amd more bread as wanted....once fully coomed n fluid absorbed and mixture damp not soaked. ..make a tinfoil envelope to place in bird cavity or if extra room outside bird place there. Bake with turkey remove when birds done. Baste as needed enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Tried this recipe on the weekend, I made roast chicken and used this recipe to stuff it. My kids and husband couldn't get enough, my youngest even wanted it for school in his sandwiches. This is defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I make this all the time with no changes and my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I cooked this stuffing exact to this recipe and had rave reviews. I used white bread and french baguettes. Will cook this every year from now on during Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe for stuffing. I add ALOT more sage though. :) Everyone loves it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I use whole wheat bread. This is just like the recipe my mom and aunt made but they just tore the toasted/hardened bread into bite-sized pieces. That's my only major change. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I made a few adjustments to suit my preference. I used 1/2 stick of butter, used mostly whole wheat bread, and also added the extra teasp. of sage, about 2 Tablesoons dried parsley, and 1 teasp. of thyme. Got a compliment immediately. Oh yes, I almost forgot, I took the advice on 'staling' the bread. After toasting, 4 slices in microwave for 1 min. will take care of making your bread nice and stale (I chopped easily with a large knife).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was awesome! I cubed the bread instead of smashing it and I used poultry seasoning because I didn't have any sage. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe. Everyone enjoyed it at our Thanksgiving dinner. I made it for 6 servings. I used about 7 slices of whole wheat bread. I toasted the bread in the toaster and tried to use the rolling pin to crush it but it wouldn't work. It probably wasn't dry enough so I used the blender and that worked nicely. I did have to double the broth content and the amount of sage. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Thought this was delicious. The only thing I changed was to add carrots as well. I also used a little more stock because I didn't want it to be dry, I just kept adding more stock as it was cooking. Also save some stock if you are reheating it or making this in advance, the stock really helps the flavor to stay in and the stuffing to not dry out when it is reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elviracross

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States