Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This rcipe is great! It reminds me of my grandmothers stuffing, Thank You! Denicew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Absolutely incredible!!!!!!! My mam-maw used to make this and unfortunately she never wrote down the recipe. My mother have tried to duplicate it with no luck! I was determined to find this recipe for Thanksgiving this year, and here it is. I will say that I changed it a little: I used about a tablespoon of sage, and I did half and half fresh bread and the herbed Pepperidge Farm bread crumbs. Mam-maw used to use cornbread as well, but I was too busy to make any--next time I might add that as well. Again, thank you so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I added fresh mushrooms, fresh cranberries, thawed chopped spinach squeezed of the water and only a12oz can of chicken stock. Which we usaly just add to StoveTop but this was twice as good as a begining base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
It was a wonderful stuffing recipe! We loved it. It was so easy and so tasty~ we cooked it in a turkey and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I gave this recipe 5-stars because it is exactly what it says: old fashioned stuffing. Like Grandma's. With that said, some people might find it somewhat unspectacular for exactly that reason. I did add some poultry seasoning in addition to the sage that was called for in the recipe after tasting the final mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used this recipe because it sounded SOOO very similar to the stuffing recipe my parents made EVERY holiday when I was growing up. I have since lost that recipe but was having my mother over for Thanksgiving and wanted things to be just right. She LOVED the stuffing and thought it was a FABULOUS recipe. That comment from a woman who has cooked her fair share of Thanksgiving feasts. What a compliment! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous! Came out perfect! I used double the butter and cut back on the broth... ummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a good starter recipe for homemade stuffing - the hardest part is prepping. The end result is good, but lacking substantial flavor. We added 1 cup more chicken broth and upped the dose of sage. (The called-for liquid amount is already too low, so more chicken broth makes the bread more moist and flavorful.) It's hard to give up Stove Top, but making your own is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Good basic stuffing. I used brownberry seasoned bread cubes. I cut the recipe down to serve 6 and stuffed a perdue oven roaster with it. Since I scaled the recipe down, I omitted the egg, which would have been 1/2 of an egg, so my allergic baby could enjoy some as well...and he did ;) Thanks Lynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was my first attempt at making home made stuffing and it turned out well. I used home made bread and had to add twice as much chicken broth as it called for. I also added a little poultry seasoning and thyme to spice it up a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States