Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed it exactly as written, but found that the finished product was very bland. I have since read the other reviewers and will definitely add more spices if I make this again. I even went out and bought rubbed sage, but maybe I should have also added thyme, poultry seasoning or ??. Like I said, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I thought it was good, but lacked spices. I will try it again and use more to see if i get get the taste right. BTW, I used everything Gluten Free. I used the Udi's Gluten Free Multigrain. The consistency was great I just thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Became a rock hard brick. Perhaps if more liquid was used it would have worked, but I could not even bring myself to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Recipe got rave reviews from my Thanksgiving guests, but I did make adjustments: -Used 4 c. broth instead of two -Added another egg, meaning 3 eggs instead of 4 -I didn't drain the onions and celery before adding to bread -Added 3 teaspoons fresh sage instead of two -Added 1 teaspoon thyme -As well, I cubed the bread the day before and toasted, then left out all night If you want to make this ahead of time, have some extra chicken broth on hand to baste the stuffing for reheating - the stuffing can easily dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love it very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is exactly like my mother in law's recipe except that she didn't include celery and garlic and did add giblets chopped up. I just wanted to chime in about dry stuffing reviews. When she taught me to make this, there was no measure on the broth. Her instructions were to add the broth in, cup by cup and when I could take two hands, grab some stuffing and form a softball size ball that held together, that was enough liquid. I have used the same "measurement" for 30+ years and everyone loves it. Always moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Just like my Mimmie made except we broke the bread up in peices and let dry for a couple days tossing gently. You can put in 200 degree oven to toast the bread also. Very gently mixing ingredients to keep fluffy and we used 3 eggs. Very good recipe and good oldfashion southern eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I also altered this recipe. I baked it inside turkey, used celery carrots little but of chopped dill, couple loafs of bread (rite off shelf) Campbell's chicken broth, onions n whatever other veggies I had. Chop all veggies into tiny pieces In a frying pan place onion, celery , and other veggies. Couple tbsp of butter. Add oil fry veggies and add spices to veggies...again I used what ever spices+ onion garlic seasoning salt Italian spice whatever....once fried add 1/3 chicken broth and add bread pieces either cut or rip into pieces add to pan. Stir mix add more spices ...add more broth amd more bread as wanted....once fully coomed n fluid absorbed and mixture damp not soaked. ..make a tinfoil envelope to place in bird cavity or if extra room outside bird place there. Bake with turkey remove when birds done. Baste as needed enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Tried this recipe on the weekend, I made roast chicken and used this recipe to stuff it. My kids and husband couldn't get enough, my youngest even wanted it for school in his sandwiches. This is defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States