Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is exactly like my mother in law's recipe except that she didn't include celery and garlic and did add giblets chopped up. I just wanted to chime in about dry stuffing reviews. When she taught me to make this, there was no measure on the broth. Her instructions were to add the broth in, cup by cup and when I could take two hands, grab some stuffing and form a softball size ball that held together, that was enough liquid. I have used the same "measurement" for 30+ years and everyone loves it. Always moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Just like my Mimmie made except we broke the bread up in peices and let dry for a couple days tossing gently. You can put in 200 degree oven to toast the bread also. Very gently mixing ingredients to keep fluffy and we used 3 eggs. Very good recipe and good oldfashion southern eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I also altered this recipe. I baked it inside turkey, used celery carrots little but of chopped dill, couple loafs of bread (rite off shelf) Campbell's chicken broth, onions n whatever other veggies I had. Chop all veggies into tiny pieces In a frying pan place onion, celery , and other veggies. Couple tbsp of butter. Add oil fry veggies and add spices to veggies...again I used what ever spices+ onion garlic seasoning salt Italian spice whatever....once fried add 1/3 chicken broth and add bread pieces either cut or rip into pieces add to pan. Stir mix add more spices ...add more broth amd more bread as wanted....once fully coomed n fluid absorbed and mixture damp not soaked. ..make a tinfoil envelope to place in bird cavity or if extra room outside bird place there. Bake with turkey remove when birds done. Baste as needed enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Tried this recipe on the weekend, I made roast chicken and used this recipe to stuff it. My kids and husband couldn't get enough, my youngest even wanted it for school in his sandwiches. This is defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I make this all the time with no changes and my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I cooked this stuffing exact to this recipe and had rave reviews. I used white bread and french baguettes. Will cook this every year from now on during Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe for stuffing. I add ALOT more sage though. :) Everyone loves it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I use whole wheat bread. This is just like the recipe my mom and aunt made but they just tore the toasted/hardened bread into bite-sized pieces. That's my only major change. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I made a few adjustments to suit my preference. I used 1/2 stick of butter, used mostly whole wheat bread, and also added the extra teasp. of sage, about 2 Tablesoons dried parsley, and 1 teasp. of thyme. Got a compliment immediately. Oh yes, I almost forgot, I took the advice on 'staling' the bread. After toasting, 4 slices in microwave for 1 min. will take care of making your bread nice and stale (I chopped easily with a large knife).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States