Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This rcipe is great! It reminds me of my grandmothers stuffing, Thank You! Denicew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I added fresh mushrooms, fresh cranberries, thawed chopped spinach squeezed of the water and only a12oz can of chicken stock. Which we usaly just add to StoveTop but this was twice as good as a begining base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I gave this recipe 5-stars because it is exactly what it says: old fashioned stuffing. Like Grandma's. With that said, some people might find it somewhat unspectacular for exactly that reason. I did add some poultry seasoning in addition to the sage that was called for in the recipe after tasting the final mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Absolutely incredible!!!!!!! My mam-maw used to make this and unfortunately she never wrote down the recipe. My mother have tried to duplicate it with no luck! I was determined to find this recipe for Thanksgiving this year, and here it is. I will say that I changed it a little: I used about a tablespoon of sage, and I did half and half fresh bread and the herbed Pepperidge Farm bread crumbs. Mam-maw used to use cornbread as well, but I was too busy to make any--next time I might add that as well. Again, thank you so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used this recipe because it sounded SOOO very similar to the stuffing recipe my parents made EVERY holiday when I was growing up. I have since lost that recipe but was having my mother over for Thanksgiving and wanted things to be just right. She LOVED the stuffing and thought it was a FABULOUS recipe. That comment from a woman who has cooked her fair share of Thanksgiving feasts. What a compliment! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great recipe! I made it for a Christmas dinner for friends here in Japan who had never had turkey or stuffing before, and they loved it! I didn't have sage, so I used rosemary instead. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
It was a wonderful stuffing recipe! We loved it. It was so easy and so tasty~ we cooked it in a turkey and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I used rye bread and added mushrooms for a twist. It really gives it that extra flavor everyone says this stuffing is missing. It's been a favorite of my entire family for years. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous! Came out perfect! I used double the butter and cut back on the broth... ummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I made this recipe for a Thanksgiving lunch at work. I had to make enough for 40 people. I should have made enough for 80, it went so quickly. Everyone loved it. I did add grated carrot to the onions and celery though. Thanks Lynn for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States