Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Oh! Something else I forgot to mention! Perhaps another reason some have found this to be dry could be because they are toasting the bread? I just lay my bread slices out on a cookie cooling rack for a couple of hours & then turn them over & let them sit for a bit more. I don't let them get totally dried out. Hope all of this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I put mine into a stuffing bag then put it in the turkey and it turned out really mushy but maybe it was because the bag. Flavor was great though! I wll try this recipe without the bag next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I thought I did everything right. But mine turned out really dry! The flavor was good, but it was way too dry. I'll do it differently next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oopsadazy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
i only used 1/2 fresh toasted bread and 1 package dried multi-grain bread crumbs from bakery . i also used a few pats of real butter on top.VERY GOOD !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthekitch801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is a simple but very delicious recipe. I used it as a casserole top crust and the excess I baked and topped with shredded cheddar cheese just long enough to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I am not going to give this recipe a four or five and then say what I changed. I thought it was bland and dry. Why give a recipe a high score when it does not deserve it. I wished I would have researched others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
good olde fashion dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Ok, so I gave this 4 stars because, like others, things needed to be added to make it the BEST! I too added more sage and I used 1/2 my homemade wheat bread and 1/2 organic garden herb croutons. I also used organic cream of chicken soup for my extra flavor and liquid. Turned out awesome! Thanks for this wonderful starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I also added more liquid, but I used half and half as the extra liquid. It make it so moist and rich tasting. I upped the sage a bit as well as added a couple more eggs. But this is a good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Good stuff...just like Mom's. Of course, she could never give me a recipe with amounts, etc. I like the sauteeing the veggies first, that's how I grew up making it. Only change I make is to used cubed bread--another preference (or cheat and use bags of herbed bread from the grocery!). I play with liquid amounts to suit but this recipe as printed is generally spot on. And I like to add a little evaporated milk bc that's how mom did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States