Old-Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this a "blueberry strawberry shortcake" by well, adding blueberries. I baked this around the 4th of July last year and made a little flag design by using a rectangular baking pan, spreading whipped topping, and using the blueberries and strawberries to make an American flag. The shortcake itself was a little dry for my taste, so next time I'll be careful not to overmix and perhaps will add a bit more butter or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was my very first time eating strawberry short cake and I must say it was the best in the world can't wait to have it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wonderfully light and tasty. Best shortcake recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I was a bit worried when I saw how dry the dough was so I doubled the cream. it still cam out dry. I used heavy whipping cream cause that was what I had on hand. I also only used 1 cup sugar for three quarts of berries - came out plenty sweet! I doubled the recipe for the cake and tripled the berries. I used fresh whipped cream. It was pretty good. next time I may add even more liquid as it was really crumbly. Needed a little more liquid to hold it together. perhaps next time I will take everyones advice and add some sour cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Photo by Kim
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This cake was a "show stopper" for our Mother's Day gathering. But maybe try 1 cup of Half and Half cream as we found the dough a tad dry when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This shortcake was SO good! Just slightly sweet and perfect for soaking up the berry juice. Just like what my mom makes! I didn't use a whole cup of sugar, more like 1/3 c and it was sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a delicious and easy recipe. I did substitute sour cream for the cream and it worked well. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. It was flat, dry, and crumbled too easy. The only highlight to my shortcake was my homemade whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Froggy1132
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was wonderful. A hit for the whole family and super easy to make. We used frozen strawberries because that's all we had. Fresh would have been better, but it was pretty hard to beat even with the frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy1132

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
awesome, makes 7-8 biscuits. light & flavor is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States