Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I MADE A MODIFIED VERSION: I used 1 C of sugar, 1/3 C flour, no cinnamon (b/c I didn't think I would like the flavor with strawberries), no butter, and I added 3 T cornstarch. Since the recipe did not say whether the strawberries should be cut up or left whole, I left them whole. I wonder if those with a too runny/juicy pie cut their strawberries up? Mine was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Like other reviewers, I really wanted this to turn out well. I had an abundance of strawberries from my garden and wanted to showcase them without a lot of other ingredients. As some suggested I cut the sugar to a cup and added 1/4 cup of cornstarch - and got strawberry soup. The flavor was excellent but the pie was wet and runny. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious pie! It is "soupy", but I've never had a baked strawberry pie, that wasn't soupy. Strawberries aren't like cherries or apples, so they make a pie that is more like a cobbler with two crusts. If you want a firm strawberry pie, you need to make the cold, unbaked kind with a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great flavor, but excessive juice even after following modifications from other reviewers. I cut the sugar in half and added 2 1/2 Tbsp. corn starch to the 1/3 c. flour and it was soupy. I thought it might thicken after it cooled but no such luck. I'll try using tapioca next time. Everyone thought it tasted wonderful, but it just looked like hell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
After a wonderful afternoon picking strawberries at a local farm, I had about 3 bushels of berries and needed to find something to do with them! Having never made a strawberry pie before, I decided to try this recipe because it looked so easy and to my delight....it was! I took the advise of other reviewers and reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and added a tablespoon of cornstarch. I also used store bought pre-made pie pastry. I ended up with a super delicious pie that was not too runny at all (especially my second slice the next morning). I think I'll add another 1 or 2 tablespoons of cornstarch the next time and then it may just be perfect. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is the simplest, best strawberry pie recipe ever. It can be a little juicy (soupy sounds too negative), but I hardly see that as a problem. The juice is so delicious that we all mop it up with the last bit of crust, or swirl it into the dollop of ice cream on the side. Yum! With a homemade crust and fresh summer berries this pie will visit you in your dreams! I think I have to go make one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Made it exactly as directed. It was way too sweet and way too runny! Will look for other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
just made this today with 2 pkgs of frozen stawberries and followed the recipe exactly adding 3 tbs of cornstarch in sugar and flour mixture. The flavor was good but very soupy when I cut into the pie. The cornstarch definitely didn't help with thickness I may try with fresh berries next time so there will be less moisture then frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We had Pie Soup and I used 1/4 cup of cornstarch. But my berries are really fresh and ripe maybe that was the problem. I put the second pie in for a longer time and a lower temp and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thalon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe except I made it into 5 mini-pies because I like to give them away to people. It came out just great, not too runny, sweet but not too sweet. I used my own home made pie crust, and a friend told me it was the best strawberry pie he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States