Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe like this for years and now I've found it. This is possibly the best fruit pie I have ever eaten. I did follow the advice of some the reviewers and added a little extra flour. I also cut back on the sugar because my family tends to prefer things less sweet. My pie turned out great and I am by far NO expert pie maker. P.S. I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This pie is AMAZING! I will say that I should have read the other reviews before as the cornstarch is a necessary addition, without it the pie is runny. I also made mine with a homemade crust vs store bought. I think its better that way but, 6 1 half dozen the other the pie will blow your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
DELISH! I only used 1 cup of sugar and 3 tablespoons of corn starch, like some people suggested, and O-M-G! Perfect with vanilla ice cream and a tall glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have never made a strawberry pie before and I wanted a pie with a top and bottom crust which is hard to find. This recipe is the best! The only thing I changed was I added 3 TBSP of cornstarch like others suggested. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did was right after it came out of the oven was I put it directly in the fridge to cool. When I tried a piece a couple hours later, it was not runny at all - it stayed together and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was my first try at a strawberry pie and it was so good! Really simple and had a great refreshing taste. I made it for our Memorial Day cookout and, not one piece was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This recipe was great. i made my own crust, but the filling was delicious.. i added the corn starch like everyone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Delicious! I never have problems with this like some of the other reviewers have had. I do use a little more flour than called for, and on occasion I add sour cream to form a custard, but otherwise it's great. It is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I thought this pie was absolutely wonderful, as did everyone who tried it. I wanted a pie akin to a traditional apple pie, but with strawberries and this hit the spot. Minor changes: I used 1 cup sugar with fresh, in-season berries, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and added 2 tablespoons cornstarch for a firmer consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Overall a good pie. I added a few tbsp cornstarch as suggested by other reviewers and that made a big difference. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract and made a lattice top. I think that the lattice helped reduce soupiness. I wasn't partial to the way the cinnamon flavored the pie but my guests were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulette J
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This had good flavor. My family loved it and I liked it too. I personally prefer strawberry shortcake though. I used frozen strawberries I had in the freezer from last summers harvest. Next time I will reduce the sugar a bit, add a bit of corn starch and let it cool completely. It was pretty runny. A wonderful addition is to make sure you brush the top crust with milk and sprinkle it with sugar or Cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States