Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very good recipe. I added 3 tbsp. cornstarch and it was still juicy enough for me. When I added the strawberries to the sugar/flour mix, I found there was left over dry mix. This I just sprinkled on top of the strawberries after putting them in my pie dish. I think I'll try it next with different berries, since I love the recipe but am not such a fan of cooked strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I agree with other posters that fruit pies are always tricky. Whoever made up the saying, "easy as pie" must have been referring to eating, not baking, lol! I love this recipe because it's simple. I did need to adjust things based on the berries I had. I used about 2 cups of frozen raspberries, and a generous 3 cups of fresh chopped strawberries. The amount of sugar called for was perfect for the type/amount of berries I had (I tasted it before baking, and before adding flour). I did add less cinnamon (1/4 tsp), which was perfect for my taste. I also added about 5 Tbsp of cornstarch with the flour, since I used some frozen berries (they seem juicier), no extra water. I then latticed the top. It did overflow, as expected, so be prepared! With these adjustments for the berries I had on hand, the pie came out perfectly. Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great pie with a couple of tweeks. First I doubled the flour, then I halved the cinnamon, and finally I addd an 8th of a cup of cornstarch. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Smirf
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this recipe Gluten free using the original measurements, only using a Gluten free crust, and using half rice flour and half potato flour for the 1/3 cup of all purpose flour. It turned out great! My mom (who is on the gluten free diet) made it first a week ago, and it was so good that we picked up more strawberries and I made another one! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I MADE A MODIFIED VERSION: I used 1 C of sugar, 1/3 C flour, no cinnamon (b/c I didn't think I would like the flavor with strawberries), no butter, and I added 3 T cornstarch. Since the recipe did not say whether the strawberries should be cut up or left whole, I left them whole. I wonder if those with a too runny/juicy pie cut their strawberries up? Mine was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Like other reviewers, I really wanted this to turn out well. I had an abundance of strawberries from my garden and wanted to showcase them without a lot of other ingredients. As some suggested I cut the sugar to a cup and added 1/4 cup of cornstarch - and got strawberry soup. The flavor was excellent but the pie was wet and runny. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious pie! It is "soupy", but I've never had a baked strawberry pie, that wasn't soupy. Strawberries aren't like cherries or apples, so they make a pie that is more like a cobbler with two crusts. If you want a firm strawberry pie, you need to make the cold, unbaked kind with a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great flavor, but excessive juice even after following modifications from other reviewers. I cut the sugar in half and added 2 1/2 Tbsp. corn starch to the 1/3 c. flour and it was soupy. I thought it might thicken after it cooled but no such luck. I'll try using tapioca next time. Everyone thought it tasted wonderful, but it just looked like hell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
After a wonderful afternoon picking strawberries at a local farm, I had about 3 bushels of berries and needed to find something to do with them! Having never made a strawberry pie before, I decided to try this recipe because it looked so easy and to my delight....it was! I took the advise of other reviewers and reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and added a tablespoon of cornstarch. I also used store bought pre-made pie pastry. I ended up with a super delicious pie that was not too runny at all (especially my second slice the next morning). I think I'll add another 1 or 2 tablespoons of cornstarch the next time and then it may just be perfect. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is the simplest, best strawberry pie recipe ever. It can be a little juicy (soupy sounds too negative), but I hardly see that as a problem. The juice is so delicious that we all mop it up with the last bit of crust, or swirl it into the dollop of ice cream on the side. Yum! With a homemade crust and fresh summer berries this pie will visit you in your dreams! I think I have to go make one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States