Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have never made a strawberry pie before and I wanted a pie with a top and bottom crust which is hard to find. This recipe is the best! The only thing I changed was I added 3 TBSP of cornstarch like others suggested. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did was right after it came out of the oven was I put it directly in the fridge to cool. When I tried a piece a couple hours later, it was not runny at all - it stayed together and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was my first try at a strawberry pie and it was so good! Really simple and had a great refreshing taste. I made it for our Memorial Day cookout and, not one piece was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This recipe was great. i made my own crust, but the filling was delicious.. i added the corn starch like everyone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Delicious! I never have problems with this like some of the other reviewers have had. I do use a little more flour than called for, and on occasion I add sour cream to form a custard, but otherwise it's great. It is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I thought this pie was absolutely wonderful, as did everyone who tried it. I wanted a pie akin to a traditional apple pie, but with strawberries and this hit the spot. Minor changes: I used 1 cup sugar with fresh, in-season berries, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and added 2 tablespoons cornstarch for a firmer consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Overall a good pie. I added a few tbsp cornstarch as suggested by other reviewers and that made a big difference. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract and made a lattice top. I think that the lattice helped reduce soupiness. I wasn't partial to the way the cinnamon flavored the pie but my guests were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Back2Basicsmom
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This had good flavor. My family loved it and I liked it too. I personally prefer strawberry shortcake though. I used frozen strawberries I had in the freezer from last summers harvest. Next time I will reduce the sugar a bit, add a bit of corn starch and let it cool completely. It was pretty runny. A wonderful addition is to make sure you brush the top crust with milk and sprinkle it with sugar or Cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
LOVED this recipe! The only other pie I had ever made before in my life was a pumpkin pie, and this came out delish. I read through some of the other reviews, and did cut the sugar back to 1 cup and added just a little more flour than what was called for. I also added in a couple tablespoons of Kozy Shack Strawberry Pudding, and coated the top with half and half and sugar to make it pretty. I'm a firm believer that a good recipe is one that is forgiving of different interpretations, and this one definitely had that quality! I'm making it again this week for some friends of mine. So easy, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This pie is very good, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this pie! My favorite pie so far this year, it's soooo super sweet like candy. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States