Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I substituted 1/4 cup cornstarch instead of flour, and while it held together well, it tasted just like strawberry jam and toast. Did anyone else notice that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made a traditional pie crust and followed the recipe mostly as written. The only differences was that I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to the filling mixture and cut the sugar mixture down a 1/3 cup because the strawberries were so sweet. Also, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for a little more complex flavor. I was a little concerned that it would be too soupy as some of the other reviewers stated. I turned out perfect!! Also, remember with a fruit pie, if you let it sit overnight or at least 4 to 6 hours after baking, the filling will firm up as it cools. I really can't say anything bad about this pie. I think it is lack of experience baking fruit pies that others have had a lot of difficulty with the pie filling. Also if you are looking for something with a more tart/sweet flavor try a strawberry rhubarb pie. Most classic recipe strawberry pies are on the sweet side. Again it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I added almost a cup of flour and 3/4 cups of sugar. This pie was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I had strawberry soup between two pie crusts and I added the cornstarch (2 Tbs) other reviewers recommended. It just did not hold together at all. Taste-was good, but a little sweet I would cut back on the sugar like others have suggested. I MIGHT try it one more time and use a full 1/4 cup of cornstarch..I'll re-review if that comes out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe, but came out runny the first time. Changes I made: I put 1 cup sugar, 1/4 brown sugar in the sliced strawberries and allowed them to macerate for ~2 hours. I drained the juice and boiled it until it became syrupy. This was mixed back into the strawberries before baking. I also added a generous 1/4 cup of cornstarch versus flour. Also, this pie needs to completely cool before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orleans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by echofraker
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
First pie ever and it is true that this comes out runny. I even added a little cornstarch to the recipe...about 2-3 tablespoons. I loved it anyway!!!! I used frozen strawberries that i had defrosted almost till soft. I think next time i may add more cornstarch, but we will see after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echofraker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good recipe. Easy too. For the crust i used the Hot Water Pie Crust I, and i think that added to it well. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marina M.
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe out and with a great flaky crust it's really YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe called for my husband who requested a strawberry pie and I've never made one before. He said it was really good (to his surprise because he originally wanted it made with syrup.) He said it was just like an apple pie, but with strawberries (because of the cinnamon) Very easy to make. It was kind of runny, but that didn't bother my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this was a great pie it tasted like fresh homemade jam i followed other reviews and added cornstarch it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coobie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States