Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Back2Basicsmom
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This had good flavor. My family loved it and I liked it too. I personally prefer strawberry shortcake though. I used frozen strawberries I had in the freezer from last summers harvest. Next time I will reduce the sugar a bit, add a bit of corn starch and let it cool completely. It was pretty runny. A wonderful addition is to make sure you brush the top crust with milk and sprinkle it with sugar or Cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
LOVED this recipe! The only other pie I had ever made before in my life was a pumpkin pie, and this came out delish. I read through some of the other reviews, and did cut the sugar back to 1 cup and added just a little more flour than what was called for. I also added in a couple tablespoons of Kozy Shack Strawberry Pudding, and coated the top with half and half and sugar to make it pretty. I'm a firm believer that a good recipe is one that is forgiving of different interpretations, and this one definitely had that quality! I'm making it again this week for some friends of mine. So easy, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This pie is very good, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this pie! My favorite pie so far this year, it's soooo super sweet like candy. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very good recipe. I added 3 tbsp. cornstarch and it was still juicy enough for me. When I added the strawberries to the sugar/flour mix, I found there was left over dry mix. This I just sprinkled on top of the strawberries after putting them in my pie dish. I think I'll try it next with different berries, since I love the recipe but am not such a fan of cooked strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I agree with other posters that fruit pies are always tricky. Whoever made up the saying, "easy as pie" must have been referring to eating, not baking, lol! I love this recipe because it's simple. I did need to adjust things based on the berries I had. I used about 2 cups of frozen raspberries, and a generous 3 cups of fresh chopped strawberries. The amount of sugar called for was perfect for the type/amount of berries I had (I tasted it before baking, and before adding flour). I did add less cinnamon (1/4 tsp), which was perfect for my taste. I also added about 5 Tbsp of cornstarch with the flour, since I used some frozen berries (they seem juicier), no extra water. I then latticed the top. It did overflow, as expected, so be prepared! With these adjustments for the berries I had on hand, the pie came out perfectly. Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great pie with a couple of tweeks. First I doubled the flour, then I halved the cinnamon, and finally I addd an 8th of a cup of cornstarch. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Smirf
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this recipe Gluten free using the original measurements, only using a Gluten free crust, and using half rice flour and half potato flour for the 1/3 cup of all purpose flour. It turned out great! My mom (who is on the gluten free diet) made it first a week ago, and it was so good that we picked up more strawberries and I made another one! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I MADE A MODIFIED VERSION: I used 1 C of sugar, 1/3 C flour, no cinnamon (b/c I didn't think I would like the flavor with strawberries), no butter, and I added 3 T cornstarch. Since the recipe did not say whether the strawberries should be cut up or left whole, I left them whole. I wonder if those with a too runny/juicy pie cut their strawberries up? Mine was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Like other reviewers, I really wanted this to turn out well. I had an abundance of strawberries from my garden and wanted to showcase them without a lot of other ingredients. As some suggested I cut the sugar to a cup and added 1/4 cup of cornstarch - and got strawberry soup. The flavor was excellent but the pie was wet and runny. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States