Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent pie! I usually avoid strawberries, fresh or frozen, because I find the tartness a little overwhelming. I followed the recipe using fresh strawberries and refrigerated pie crusts and it turned out fantastic. I baked it at a lower temperature for a longer time to prevent it from browning too fast, 325 degrees for 1 hour. The filling set up perfectly, not runny at all. It had just the right sweetness and you could really taste the strawberries. Will be baking this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe, my dear Aunt Pearl made this family fav and couldn't find it in my Recipe Box of yesteryear! Thank you! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is the first pie I ever made. I made it for a Memorial Day party and my guests devoured it with in 5 minutes! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is truly an old-fashioned strawberry pie and it is delish! It's from before the days of cornstarch, and therefore is a little runny, but what's wrong with that? Every drippy bit tastes like pure summer. Skip the cornstarch as many reviewers suggest using, follow the recipe, and be transported to a simpler time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
TOTALLY awesome! I made homemade crust and homemade whipped topping to go with it. OMG SO GOOD! Totally recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I also found it needed the cornstarch (3 tbsp.) and less cinnamon (1/4 tsp.) but other than that it turned out great. I also omitted the butter and found it delicious without it. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was my first strawberry pie and it turned out fantastic. I used my own pie crust recipe and made sure to put this on a cookie sheet. The juices just spilled out, so I'm thankful it did. I may add more flour or cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Pretty good strawberry pie. My first attempt at a pie and paired with a home made crust. Followed the directions to a T, and it all turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a easy wonderful recipe. I added a touch of Almond extract and it seemed to give it just a little more old fashioned taste. Only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Perfect! The picture (crust) did not do this pie justice.. Great recipe! Simple is Best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States