Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
TOTALLY awesome! I made homemade crust and homemade whipped topping to go with it. OMG SO GOOD! Totally recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I also found it needed the cornstarch (3 tbsp.) and less cinnamon (1/4 tsp.) but other than that it turned out great. I also omitted the butter and found it delicious without it. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was my first strawberry pie and it turned out fantastic. I used my own pie crust recipe and made sure to put this on a cookie sheet. The juices just spilled out, so I'm thankful it did. I may add more flour or cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Pretty good strawberry pie. My first attempt at a pie and paired with a home made crust. Followed the directions to a T, and it all turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a easy wonderful recipe. I added a touch of Almond extract and it seemed to give it just a little more old fashioned taste. Only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Perfect! The picture (crust) did not do this pie justice.. Great recipe! Simple is Best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This pie was very good, my whole family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinaann7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
As a (very) novice pie maker, I found this to be so easy and so successful. I chose to do the following: used 3 tbsp cornstarch, kept the cinnamon the same, used approximately 5 1/2 cups of organic frozen strawberries. I got these suggestions from other raters and everything worked really well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This pie was a huge hit at the family Halloween party. You don't often see a baked strawberry pie without rhubarb or raspberry or something mixed in, but it really doesn't need it, and everybody loved it. Like most other people, I added 2 tbsp. cornstarch to the dry ingredients, and this kept the filling nice and thick instead of soupy, but not too jammy. Following another reviewer's advice, I baked the pie at 425 for 30 minutes, then turned the heat down to 350 to bake the last 20 minutes. Both crust and berries were perfectly cooked. I also brushed the top of the crust with beaten egg white and sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar. This made it crisp and golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctizz1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States