Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by eiesha20welder
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I had some fresh strawberries to use and so I looked for a pie recipe. I dont like the gelatin type open faced pies. However, let me tell you this 2 crust traditional recipe is on point! I scaled down to 1 cup of sugar from reading other's advice, but the second time I took it down even more to 1/2 a cup. I think since my berries were already ripe and fresh, the original amount of sugar could be adjusted. maybe frozen strawberries need more. After baking it on 425 for 25 min, I turned it down to 350 for the last 15 min. Another reviewer mentioned this helps the liquid to be thicker. The juice inside was perfect so I will continue to do it like this as well. this is SO simple, and you will look like a master chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is fantastic ! Never had a strawberry pie, wanted something other than the usual strawberry shortcake. This recipe is extremely easy what a pleasure. Used a Jiffy Pie Crust IMO they're the best. Was tempted to slice the strawberries but resisted good thing the results were great. Not fond of anything too sweet so I cut down on the sugar, love a buttery taste increased the butter, no cholesterol issues here. We now have a new pie to add to our favorites. Pie finished baking 2 hours prior to writing this only 2 slices left for dessert tonight if they last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Outstanding! I admit, I took out a tablespoon or two of the sugar as my berries were nice and sweet and I'm not a fan of too-sweet anything. I also added a dash of nutmeg and about 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom and a pinch of allspice :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
So so good! My strawberries were so-so sweet, so I used 3/4 C white sugar and that was perfect. For thickener, I used appx 3 tsp cornstarch and 3 T all purpose flour. After baking and cooling, I put it in the fridge and warmed to room temperature to serve - it held together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was a nice basic pie recipe. I used corn starch to thicken instead of flour (personal preference) and omitted the butter. My berries were already a little sweet, so I only used 1 cup of sugar. Finally, I added a lattice top. This pie came out beautiful (see added photo) and tastes wonderful. It was just what I was in the mood for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Fabulous recipe !! I tweaked it a bit .. used 5 cups of fresh cut up strawberries .. added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the flour .. cooked it at 410 for 45 minutes ... and, I brushed milk onto the top crust and sprinkled that with sugar and a SMALL bit of cinnamon .. RAVE reviews, looked awesome taste .. well .. TO DIE FOR LoL I also used a NEW pastry recipe that was so drop dead easy I am embarrassed by the length of time I took to actually make it up .. If I might, I'll share . 5 cups of flour (all purpose) .. cut in a pound of lard (Crisco) .. cut in until the mixture is 'mealy' .. make a well in the centre and pour in ONE can of 7UP, gingerale/Sprite .. diet or not .. mix well .. refrigerate for at least an hour before rolling .. I got 6 crusts from this mix, and, the pastry is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent pie! I usually avoid strawberries, fresh or frozen, because I find the tartness a little overwhelming. I followed the recipe using fresh strawberries and refrigerated pie crusts and it turned out fantastic. I baked it at a lower temperature for a longer time to prevent it from browning too fast, 325 degrees for 1 hour. The filling set up perfectly, not runny at all. It had just the right sweetness and you could really taste the strawberries. Will be baking this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe, my dear Aunt Pearl made this family fav and couldn't find it in my Recipe Box of yesteryear! Thank you! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is the first pie I ever made. I made it for a Memorial Day party and my guests devoured it with in 5 minutes! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is truly an old-fashioned strawberry pie and it is delish! It's from before the days of cornstarch, and therefore is a little runny, but what's wrong with that? Every drippy bit tastes like pure summer. Skip the cornstarch as many reviewers suggest using, follow the recipe, and be transported to a simpler time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States