Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Fabulous recipe !! I tweaked it a bit .. used 5 cups of fresh cut up strawberries .. added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the flour .. cooked it at 410 for 45 minutes ... and, I brushed milk onto the top crust and sprinkled that with sugar and a SMALL bit of cinnamon .. RAVE reviews, looked awesome taste .. well .. TO DIE FOR LoL I also used a NEW pastry recipe that was so drop dead easy I am embarrassed by the length of time I took to actually make it up .. If I might, I'll share . 5 cups of flour (all purpose) .. cut in a pound of lard (Crisco) .. cut in until the mixture is 'mealy' .. make a well in the centre and pour in ONE can of 7UP, gingerale/Sprite .. diet or not .. mix well .. refrigerate for at least an hour before rolling .. I got 6 crusts from this mix, and, the pastry is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent pie! I usually avoid strawberries, fresh or frozen, because I find the tartness a little overwhelming. I followed the recipe using fresh strawberries and refrigerated pie crusts and it turned out fantastic. I baked it at a lower temperature for a longer time to prevent it from browning too fast, 325 degrees for 1 hour. The filling set up perfectly, not runny at all. It had just the right sweetness and you could really taste the strawberries. Will be baking this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe, my dear Aunt Pearl made this family fav and couldn't find it in my Recipe Box of yesteryear! Thank you! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is the first pie I ever made. I made it for a Memorial Day party and my guests devoured it with in 5 minutes! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is truly an old-fashioned strawberry pie and it is delish! It's from before the days of cornstarch, and therefore is a little runny, but what's wrong with that? Every drippy bit tastes like pure summer. Skip the cornstarch as many reviewers suggest using, follow the recipe, and be transported to a simpler time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
TOTALLY awesome! I made homemade crust and homemade whipped topping to go with it. OMG SO GOOD! Totally recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I also found it needed the cornstarch (3 tbsp.) and less cinnamon (1/4 tsp.) but other than that it turned out great. I also omitted the butter and found it delicious without it. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was my first strawberry pie and it turned out fantastic. I used my own pie crust recipe and made sure to put this on a cookie sheet. The juices just spilled out, so I'm thankful it did. I may add more flour or cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Pretty good strawberry pie. My first attempt at a pie and paired with a home made crust. Followed the directions to a T, and it all turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a easy wonderful recipe. I added a touch of Almond extract and it seemed to give it just a little more old fashioned taste. Only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States