Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Absolutely Wonderful! My husband was dancing in his seat at the dinner table. This is our third strawberry pie from Allrecipes and definitely our favorite! My juices did not gel well either so I completely covered it in foil and baked an additional 20 minutes. Next time, I will turn the heat down to 375* and bake for 60-75 minutes. I believe that would solve the thin juice problem, I think it is just not baking high enough long enough to fully gel. To use up the last of my strawberries, I had about 6 cups sliced. I also used Sure Gel instead of flour, 1/2 cup to accommodate the added berries. Instead of all cinnamon I used a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Still used the same amount of sugar. Served a la mode of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dew McClurkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe, though I followed the advice of others, used only 1 cup of sugar and added 1/4th cup of corn starch. I cooked it exactly 35 minutes. It was delicious, all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
A really great recipe. Turned out perfectly. I added a littlle cornflour as well to make sure the juice wasn't too runny. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this pie on 3 different occasions. Each time the flavor is delicious, everyone loves it! But the only problem is the pie turns to liquid. It's more like strawberry soup than pie. I can't seem to figure out how to thicken up the sauce. Any tips? I use exactly what the recipe calls for.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. Other than that, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The pie is quite rich in flavor and very sweet but also quite good and easy! You can use frozen strawberries for it, but do not get the strawberries in syrup, or at least drain about half the syrup out if you do... I made that mistake the first time I ended up with Strawberry Pie soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
very sweet-I added some apples-very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Grant Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Doesn't get much easier than this. It was juicy and delicious. If you want it set up more...eat it the next day. I made it exactly as the recipe called for minus the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigner
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This pie turned out pretty well. I did follow the advice of others and only put in 3/4 cups of sugar after tasting the strawberries, and also putting in 1/2 cup flour instead for thicker juice. There was another person who suggested baking it on high heat (425) for the first 1/2 hour, then lowering the heat to 350 for another 20 minutes, I did follow that. It turned out really well! I must also add I left out the cinnamon, and totally forgot about the butter until it was in the oven. Once it cooled, and it was cut up for dessert there really wasn't any juice spilling out anywhere, it had all been congealed. Everyone loved it! And on the upside, it also made the house smell like warm strawberry jam. I'll definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Disappointed. Didn´t like the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States