Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Gigner
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This pie turned out pretty well. I did follow the advice of others and only put in 3/4 cups of sugar after tasting the strawberries, and also putting in 1/2 cup flour instead for thicker juice. There was another person who suggested baking it on high heat (425) for the first 1/2 hour, then lowering the heat to 350 for another 20 minutes, I did follow that. It turned out really well! I must also add I left out the cinnamon, and totally forgot about the butter until it was in the oven. Once it cooled, and it was cut up for dessert there really wasn't any juice spilling out anywhere, it had all been congealed. Everyone loved it! And on the upside, it also made the house smell like warm strawberry jam. I'll definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Disappointed. Didn´t like the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I just finished baking this delicious Strawberry pie and it turned out awesome. Prepared it just like the recipe stated, no changes whatsoever. Will be sure to retain this recipe so I can make it when strawberries are plentiful. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was perfect. I pre-tasted my strawberries to determine if they needed all the sugar. They were pretty sweet already, so I used a little less than 1 C of sugar. I also added 2 T of corn starch just in case to ensure it was thick. I washed my berries thoroughly and let them sit in the colander for a while to be sure the excess water was gone, then destemmed. I used the Allrecipes recipe for Basic Flaky Pie Crust and had a scrumptious result! Be sure to cut slits in your top crust to let some of the moisture out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews 1st. I have "Strawberry Soup with Crispy Noodles". We picked organic heirloom strawberries from our own strawberry patch & used my favorite pie crust. The crust was GBD. The filling was a little too sweet (not much). When I cut/broke open that wonderful top crust, an ocean of watery strawberry "sauce" came flowing out (along with the strawberries). It was left to cool for over 2 hours, it has set for 3 more hours, still soup. I'm going to the store & buy Ice Cream. Gonna serve it with my "soup" and tell the family It's a new dish,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious! I only sprinkled a bit of cinnamon because I didn't want too much of that flavor. It smelled fantastic while baking, and tasted even better! Thanks for sharing this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My pie was VERY runny and difficult to slice due to my decision to cut the strawberries in half (the really large ones in quarters), and use only 1/4 cup of cornstarch to thicken the mixture, as suggested by a few reviewers here. It tasted good, but was quite messy. Next time, I will try keeping the strawberries whole and perhaps using tapioca flour and allowing the mixture to stand for 15 minutes before proceeding with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This pie was easy and delicous!! I am definetly going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I've never made pie before, and in the UK fruit pies are not commonplace, so I really wanted to try something new like this. I had no idea what to expect, but in the end it was so delicious. It works really well with some whipped up cream. The only adjustment I made is I latticed the pastry on top. The pie certainly is very runny but I did not find it much of a problem, in fact it was just perfect for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eiesha20welder
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I had some fresh strawberries to use and so I looked for a pie recipe. I dont like the gelatin type open faced pies. However, let me tell you this 2 crust traditional recipe is on point! I scaled down to 1 cup of sugar from reading other's advice, but the second time I took it down even more to 1/2 a cup. I think since my berries were already ripe and fresh, the original amount of sugar could be adjusted. maybe frozen strawberries need more. After baking it on 425 for 25 min, I turned it down to 350 for the last 15 min. Another reviewer mentioned this helps the liquid to be thicker. The juice inside was perfect so I will continue to do it like this as well. this is SO simple, and you will look like a master chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States