Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I give this recipe 4 stars for one reason. After reading reviews, I just couldn't follow the recipe as written. I believe this recipe is excellent though! Like others, I added approx 1 tbsp cornstarch so that it'd help thicken the sauce. I used about 1 C sugar since my strawberries were pretty sweet and about a 1/3rd C flour, then just sprinkled in cinnamon (I'm not a huge cinnamon fan). Baking time was followed as stated, but for someone who hasn't made fruit pies before, one big tip is to put it in the fridge to chill. That is what actually makes the sauce set so it isnt runny. When I let it chill onthe counter for a couple hours it was still warm and very runny. The next morning, you can slice it amd it holds its shape so well! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo'L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I tied making this Recipe before but it was a little runny so I added 1/4 cup of flour to help it not run and added 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon . Turned out perfect and it was the best pie I made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Absolutely Wonderful! My husband was dancing in his seat at the dinner table. This is our third strawberry pie from Allrecipes and definitely our favorite! My juices did not gel well either so I completely covered it in foil and baked an additional 20 minutes. Next time, I will turn the heat down to 375* and bake for 60-75 minutes. I believe that would solve the thin juice problem, I think it is just not baking high enough long enough to fully gel. To use up the last of my strawberries, I had about 6 cups sliced. I also used Sure Gel instead of flour, 1/2 cup to accommodate the added berries. Instead of all cinnamon I used a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Still used the same amount of sugar. Served a la mode of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dew McClurkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe, though I followed the advice of others, used only 1 cup of sugar and added 1/4th cup of corn starch. I cooked it exactly 35 minutes. It was delicious, all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
A really great recipe. Turned out perfectly. I added a littlle cornflour as well to make sure the juice wasn't too runny. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this pie on 3 different occasions. Each time the flavor is delicious, everyone loves it! But the only problem is the pie turns to liquid. It's more like strawberry soup than pie. I can't seem to figure out how to thicken up the sauce. Any tips? I use exactly what the recipe calls for.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. Other than that, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The pie is quite rich in flavor and very sweet but also quite good and easy! You can use frozen strawberries for it, but do not get the strawberries in syrup, or at least drain about half the syrup out if you do... I made that mistake the first time I ended up with Strawberry Pie soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
very sweet-I added some apples-very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Doesn't get much easier than this. It was juicy and delicious. If you want it set up more...eat it the next day. I made it exactly as the recipe called for minus the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States