Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent pie! I cut the strawberries into slices and lowered the sugar to 3/4 cup. The pie turned out great no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Oh, I wanted to like this. It's beyond soupy. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and it was still way too sweet. Trust what people are saying when you read the reviews. The filling would be better with a shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very easy to make and so delicious but a little bit juicy. It did thicken up after sitting over night. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
OF ALL THINGS I forgot the cinnamon and it was still so good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
this is one of the easy strawberry pies that i have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I made a homemade dough instead of using prepared pie crusts. I suggest using a little less sugar than the recipe says. Mine was a little runny. Overall, the pie was great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I made this recipe for company and had never tried it before, so I was a little worried, but it came out absolutely wonderful. Changes I made:added a bit more cinnamon, only 3/4 cup sugar, and 2 tblsps of tapioca for thickening (which is in addition to the flour). Everyone asked for the recipe, so it was definitely a hit. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I made this pie for my husband and he says it's the best strawberry pie he's ever had. It is not runny at all, it turned out perfect. I did decrease the sugar to just under 1 cup and it is still very sweet. I'm sure I will make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it was fabulously delicious and easy to make. I served it at a Memorial Day gathering and all the guests raved about it. I did reduce the sugar a bit and added a touch of corn starch to thicken the juice up a bit and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I wish I could give this recipe 5 stars, but the juice was indeed juicy. It did thicken up after sitting overnight, but it's still quite runny. I should have followed other reviewers' advice and added a couple tablspoons cornstarch. The reason I would love to give it 5 stars is the flavor--yum, yum, yummy!! It was delicious!! This will be my strawberry pie recipe, but I'm going to add cornstarch (and maybe extra flour) from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States