Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I don't know why everyone hasn't given this pie a 5- after following the suggestions (adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch and only 3/4 c sugar), the pie turned out fantastic. It wasn't too sweet or runny- my husband and I loved it and I'm sure to make it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very easy and very good. However, I cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Should have read reviews before making this one. Too sweet and it was just too runny. More like soup then pie. Not something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used frozen strawberries and 3 tablespoons cornstarch like another reviewer advised, but my pie was VERY runny. Taste was OK but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I have been told by my husband that I better rate this pie a five. Since I do not eat sweets I have to go off my families opinion but I will say this. My father came over the other night and he had a slice of peach and strawberry pie (I had made one of each that night) as soon as he was done he asked me for seconds on the strawberry pie (saying it was awesome) so thanks for the great recipe!!!!! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very tasty. Stuck with the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I was impressed with this pie. Reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup cornstarch to thicken the juices up. I'd add less cinnamon-a little overpowering. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent pie! I cut the strawberries into slices and lowered the sugar to 3/4 cup. The pie turned out great no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Oh, I wanted to like this. It's beyond soupy. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and it was still way too sweet. Trust what people are saying when you read the reviews. The filling would be better with a shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very easy to make and so delicious but a little bit juicy. It did thicken up after sitting over night. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States