Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Fantastic recipe, though I did make a few changes: I added 1/4 cup of Tapioca, and 1/2 tsp of Corn Starch to thicken. Brushed the top crust with egg and sprinkled with some sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I agree that you need to modify this recipe to make it work, but with some changes it is a delicious pie. Per several suggestions here, I decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/4 C cornstarch. Also, depending on the sweetness of the strawberries, you might want to decrease the sugar to 3/4 or 1 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I don't know why everyone hasn't given this pie a 5- after following the suggestions (adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch and only 3/4 c sugar), the pie turned out fantastic. It wasn't too sweet or runny- my husband and I loved it and I'm sure to make it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very easy and very good. However, I cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Should have read reviews before making this one. Too sweet and it was just too runny. More like soup then pie. Not something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used frozen strawberries and 3 tablespoons cornstarch like another reviewer advised, but my pie was VERY runny. Taste was OK but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I have been told by my husband that I better rate this pie a five. Since I do not eat sweets I have to go off my families opinion but I will say this. My father came over the other night and he had a slice of peach and strawberry pie (I had made one of each that night) as soon as he was done he asked me for seconds on the strawberry pie (saying it was awesome) so thanks for the great recipe!!!!! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very tasty. Stuck with the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I was impressed with this pie. Reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup cornstarch to thicken the juices up. I'd add less cinnamon-a little overpowering. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent pie! I cut the strawberries into slices and lowered the sugar to 3/4 cup. The pie turned out great no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States