Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by echofraker
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
First pie ever and it is true that this comes out runny. I even added a little cornstarch to the recipe...about 2-3 tablespoons. I loved it anyway!!!! I used frozen strawberries that i had defrosted almost till soft. I think next time i may add more cornstarch, but we will see after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echofraker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good recipe. Easy too. For the crust i used the Hot Water Pie Crust I, and i think that added to it well. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marina M.
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe out and with a great flaky crust it's really YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe called for my husband who requested a strawberry pie and I've never made one before. He said it was really good (to his surprise because he originally wanted it made with syrup.) He said it was just like an apple pie, but with strawberries (because of the cinnamon) Very easy to make. It was kind of runny, but that didn't bother my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this was a great pie it tasted like fresh homemade jam i followed other reviews and added cornstarch it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coobie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imcooking88
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
this was so yummy! i substituted 1/3 cup of flour for 1/3 cup of cornstarch, i used only a pinch of cinnamon and i squeezed some fresh lemon juice into it. i also made one with splenda because my grandpa has diabetes. they were both so good and set perfectly! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcooking88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
There are so many reviews on this pie, and unfortunately there ae a few that are not praises. This pie, as with anything that a good cook knows, must have a little personal tweek if you are that kind of a cook, but I have been not only professionally trained, but I am a very good cook and I will tell you this basic recipe is unbelievably good and shockingly easy and above all it will bring you praise. I followed the recipe--I was busy and lazy, but it still brought me rave reviews. Sweetness is personal.....think about your berries and taste them, then decide. Think about other pies you have made and what thickener do you like the best. If it is tapioca, use it in the proportions you are used too, if it is flour use the flour, but if you want to make sure a pie is thick then add a tad more. If you make the pie and you had problems then you must realize it may not be the recipes fault, but your own for now thinking things out. This pie is excellent as it stands....the taste is sweet, it is not too thick of a mixture around the berries when finished and couple those things with a very good crust and people will shout praise. Try the milk on the crust route sprinkled with sugar and it will put the Sunday clothes on the pie.....thicken with tapioca if you want a clearer thicker, more stable pie.......and if you want that great taste and sight is secondary to taste then you are find to head on and serve your family the pie as it is written. Remember there are few simple p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank
Home Town: Bennett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Try mixing the filling and zapping it in the microwave before filling the pie crusts. Some berries are juicier than others, so you can see if you need to thicken it more before you bake it. If you're not happy with this, buy the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Oh wow, what a pie! This was fantastic! I could have eaten the entire pie in one sitting! I used a mix of strawberries and blueberries, so I had about 4 1/2 cups of fruit. I personaly could have used another cup of fruit, so I'll add more next time. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of cornstarch so the middle thickened up nicely. I also cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp. Truly a delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
A little runny when I took it out of the oven, but still turned out fantastic. Reduced sugar to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup corn starch. The taste was exceptional! This pie did firm up, especially the next day. This will be a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States