Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this pie yesterday and it was one of the best I've ever made. As some have said here, I adjusted the recipe a bit and applied some of the tips here as well. Had more than enough fresh strawberries as I had gone to a strawberry patch the day before. They were on the tart side, so the amount of sugar called for was fine. Plus, a scoop of vanilla ice cream was wonderful along side it as the berries were still not overly sweet, I added 1/4 t salt, decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. I sliced the berries ( maybe that was a given, but the recipe didn't state) and added 1 T cornstarch to the flour. Baked at 400 for 25 minutes and reduced to 325 for another 20 minutes. Pie held together beautifully (after cooling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I tried before I knew it was here. If you love strawberries you want this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This pie was great! I would recommend it to anybody. I did turn down the temperature a little bit and increase the time, I also let my pie sit overnight before I cut into it. It came out delicious and had a perfect texture. I also submitted a photo of my pie... Feel free to take a look! It was wonderful. Great recipe, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious. I made this with some Pillsbury Pie Dough I had in the fridge and had exactly 4 cups of frozen strawberries in the freezer that I thawed out from my Grandma's garden. It turned out amazing and didn't have to buy one ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
As with many fruit pies, just add a little instant tapioca mix to the filling. Be sure to mix well and let it cool for some time before serving. Oh, and I don't use the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I think I might have done something wrong (new baker). The filling and bottom crust were great but the Strawberries may not have been enough as my crust turned out uneven. I will make this pie again for sure once I figure out the crust problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
delicious! but I did add some fresh rhubarb! YUM! Also, I learned a trick from an old Coast Guard Officer...Beat an egg (yes, brush the top with it and sprinkle with sugar for a beautiful shiny golden crust) brush it on the bottom of the bottom crust. This makes it so it is not soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kelleher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Sweet and tasty pie! I used partially thawed frozen strawberries. I ended up needing about 5 cups of berries. I also used only 1 cup of sugar and added 2 Tbs corn starch as recommended by other reviewers. I probably could use slightly less sugar next time, but it was not overly sweet with 1 cup. The pie still had a lot of juice in it, but it was not more than I experience with any other berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I thought it was delicious. I followed the recipe but followed some advise from Jenn's comment on June 12. We certainly enjoyed and I will make again. Loved it! Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This pie is just too runny. I think it has great potential, just with different thickening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States