Old Fashioned Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
My whole family liked this bread a lot. It didn't rise as much as I would have liked it to, but i think that was my own fault. I put the milk mixture in with the yeast while it was too hot i think. Next time I might add more nuts and raisins. An awesome bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I couldn't believe I was actually making Stollen and it turned out AMAZING! Even my German boyfriend LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Finally someone who bakes a German Stollen like my German Mother (Yes she was born ans raised in Germany) taught me. I've had discussion with people who tried to tell me it wasn't authentic. But then, it isn't the Dresdener Stollen is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Made this today for a catering event at work. It was great! I used apricot and dried cranberry's since that was the only dried fruit I had. Many compliments. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Milliner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulda, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Wonderful stollen, just like my Germany grandma used to make...just the right amount of subtle flavors. It makes a HUGE loaf...next time I will make two smaller loaves rather than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe! I think I did like another reveiwer and added the yeast too soon/while the milk was still hot. We will definately be making this again. Thankyou for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
amazing everyone enjoyed this. I used a cup of mixed dried fruit instead of raisins I think it had pears, apples and plums in it. was very pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is sooo good! I added about a 1/4 cup of cranberries to it along with the raisins and it added a splash of color and sweetness to the dough. also, I baked a thick rope of marzipan inside! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'll use more yeast next time. When I shaped it into a loaf, it spread outward rather than rising upward very much, so I ended up with a rather flat, but very tasty stollen. I added 1/2 tsp cardamom, and will probably use just a bit more next time. When I brushed on the egg wash before baking, I sprinkled with a little sanding sugar. I might try the powdered sugar glaze, but I can't stand a stollen covered with a layer of powdered sugar. It hides the subtle flavors of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband's parents are immigrants from Germany. They have a tradition of making Stollen and delivering it to all the neighbors on Christmas Eve. My husband always wants to do the same. My mother-in-law gave me the recipe, but without any instructions! This recipe was very similar to hers, so I just followed these instructions and it turned out great! We coated it with some powdered sugar glaze with almond extract. This added just the right taste to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States