Old Fashioned Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Tastes pretty close to my Grandma's recipe. I halved recipe and next time will make whole. A powdered sugar glaze drizzled over is a nice touch. EDIT: Well, I made it for Christmas for the whole family (And we haven't had my grandma's stollen sinced she passed away in 1997). It was a hit! I followed the recipe exactly but added 2 cups raisins. So tender and flaky with a hint of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Finally someone who bakes a German Stollen like my German Mother (Yes she was born ans raised in Germany) taught me. I've had discussion with people who tried to tell me it wasn't authentic. But then, it isn't the Dresdener Stollen is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have had many different types of stollen, however, this recipe is not for a stollen rather more a Raisin Bread or Breakfast bread. Stollen has more ingredients and is coated in Powder sugar. The Bread tasted best with honey butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband's parents are immigrants from Germany. They have a tradition of making Stollen and delivering it to all the neighbors on Christmas Eve. My husband always wants to do the same. My mother-in-law gave me the recipe, but without any instructions! This recipe was very similar to hers, so I just followed these instructions and it turned out great! We coated it with some powdered sugar glaze with almond extract. This added just the right taste to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Made this today for a catering event at work. It was great! I used apricot and dried cranberry's since that was the only dried fruit I had. Many compliments. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Milliner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulda, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
it's not frosting that you put on top, it's powdered sugar with a bit of lemon juice mixed. And it's just a very thin layer which makes it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
The taste was very good, however, since it had only 1 envelope for over 5 cups of flour it did not raise much. Rule of thumb is 1 envelope for 3 cups of flour. I added cardamom 1/2 tsp. The lemon zest gave it that special taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Wonderful stollen, just like my Germany grandma used to make...just the right amount of subtle flavors. It makes a HUGE loaf...next time I will make two smaller loaves rather than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
My whole family liked this bread a lot. It didn't rise as much as I would have liked it to, but i think that was my own fault. I put the milk mixture in with the yeast while it was too hot i think. Next time I might add more nuts and raisins. An awesome bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is sooo good! I added about a 1/4 cup of cranberries to it along with the raisins and it added a splash of color and sweetness to the dough. also, I baked a thick rope of marzipan inside! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States