Old-Fashioned Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Recipe was good although made a few changes. I added a half of teaspoon of baking powder, two tablespoons of molasses, and instead of one egg, I used two.... It came out really delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore Aikens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for. As a kid we used a box mix and now that I make the effort to scratch bake I did not think I could replicate the past. We omitted nuts and raisins. Used apple juice to make up for the omitted raisin juice. Other changes were using 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening, 1 tsp baking soda and a pinch of salt. Turned batter into cupcakes. The batter rose fine and made really beautiful shaped cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WetzelHillman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jamul, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Just used this recipe as a tier for my sister's wedding. It was such a big hit that some people didn't get to try so I have to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Cake didn't rise and was done in only 13 min, otherwise had a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The cake was dry and very flat. The flavor was good but wouldn't recommend or make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Flavor is excellent. I left out the rasins as I am not a rasin fan. Used Pecans instead of walnuts. Due to other reviews about the rising issue I added 1/2 tsp Baking Powder. My rose fine. I cooked in a Bundt pan for 40 mins at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I was disappointed. My cake didn't rise, only 1 inch high. I used Crisco Butter Shortening and it had a greasy taste. Although with the cream cheese icing it we were ab;e tp eat it. I would not fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
My cake didn't rise and was done in half of the time. I will try it again. But tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
Was quite nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States