Old-Fashioned Soft Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These have become a holiday staple for my family! I also use more spice than indicated and don't bother w/ the glaze. I will also often add a bag of chocolate chips. I often mix up the dough, spoon out then freeze the dough so when I'm ready to bake, I just have to place the pre-spooned out cookies on a tray and go. These don't work the best for that because the don't freeze as "firm." They do have a soft cakey texture - but they are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKMast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Loved these! Simple and delicious without being overly sweet. Made a batch for my sons class, and nothing came back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow. I baked these last year, and these are some of the best cookies my family has eaten. I couldn't bake enough of them to satisfy everyone! My son-in-law, who doesn't even like pumpkin loved them. Now that is saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
absolutely delicious! moist and perfect! Me and Husband have been making these cookies by this recipe going on year 2 :) I don't want to try any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnbpiehler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I just made a batch of these as a dry run for a bake sale next month. Glad I did. I added extra cinnamon and substituted a tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg but they were still very bland. The pumpkin was only hinted at ~ a disappointment. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These cookies turn out amazing every time I make them! Always a big hit with friends and family this time of year. They are so moist and cake-like and the icing definitely tops it off. The only modification I make is adding 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice in addition to the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
The only thing wrong with these cookies is that once I make them I cannot stop eating them. They are so moist, so utterly delicious. I keep them moist by placing them in an air-tight container one layer at a time, covering each layer with a sheet of waxed paper. I keep them refrigerated until ready to serve. They have become a new tradition and although they don't look the most exciting, once people try them they keep asking for me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These are a little bland. I didn't expect that. I did add a little (dash or two) of Pumpkin Spice. Next time I will add about 1 tsp. of Pumpkin Pie Spice and/or a spiced glaze. I love how soft they are, but I was left wanting a stronger taste. My family agreed the flavor was mild. ** I actually think the flavor got stronger when they sat longer. Maybe it's just me. These are delicious and addicting..very cakey though, but I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I love this recipe!! I've made it using whole wheat flour and they still turn out amazing. I've stopped using the glaze though. They're much better with cream cheese icing instead!! I've made cream cheese icing myself, but buying Betty Crocker cream cheese icing and adding a little vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to it works awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States