Old Fashioned Sicilian Succo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Just like grandma made I guarantee you won't be disappointed, well woth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These meatballs are missing some flavor. I would doctor the recipe to your tastebuds. I made them exactly as the recipe states and they're bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very good but does anyone recall their grandmothers, aunts, moms, etc. "frying the tomato paste with the garlic in the olive oil" BEFORE adding the San Marzana crushed tomatoes (not tomato sauce) or Contadina crushed Italian tomatoes is another good one. My mom also would crush the WHOLE italian plum tomatoes if she had to, by hand.......but I do recall the frying of the garlic in with the tomato paste. When I began doing Italian genealogy, I could tell which were true family members by this particular habit, maybe just from the mountain region of Italy.....but they are all good recipes today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Danielle and I think this receipe is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The sauce was very bland and too think and acidic. By cooking it the prescribed 4 hours at the lowest possible temperature, the sauce stuck to the bottom of the pan because it was way too thick. Fortunately, the meatballs were very good. I ended up serving the meatballs with a jarred sauce that I keep on hand for emergencies. I can't understand the rave reviews. The meatballs were very good. The kids and grandkids loved them and leftovers were sent home with them, but forget the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I, too, was looking for something that tasted like my Nonnie's meatballs and sauce. Unfortunately, I never got her recipe. These meatballs are so good and the sauce is delicious. I always make more than we need and then freeze the extras for easy weeknight meals. There's no reason to use any other recipe than this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Please keep looking for an authentic, delicious slow-cooked sauce - this isn't it. It tasted like the sauce in a can of spaghettios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIreland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
OUTSTANDING! I was so fortunate to spend 3 weeks travelling through Italy with the love of my life last summer that it actually brought tears to my eyes when i tasted this sauce! Joiamia - I never made it to Sicily but your Nana has brought back so many memories of great italian home cooking to me - thank-you for those, and thank-you for this recipe. I didn't change a thing and wont ever. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyOne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I know everyone raves about this recipe, but it wasn't that great. It needs salt and some extra seasoning. And the meatballs were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States