Old-Fashioned Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! This is an easy-to-make, tasty shortcake recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as it was stated, only change is that I added a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon & baked it at 350 (mainly because our oven over bakes too easily at higher temps). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious! I will quote my mom: "I think this is the best shortcake I've ever had."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess_whitenight
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I love this recipe!!! I will never buy store cakes again!!! It's so easy, and they taste amazing! This was the first time I have made the recipe at my new house but 15 minutes was a little to long, but for my other oven it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly (except I added 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg instead of a 1/4) and it came out so perfect! I didn't have to adjust the temp or the time and it still came out evenly cooked. Definitly the best strawberry shortcake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it just as written and the nutmeg flavor is wonderful. This will be my go-to recipe for strawberry shortcake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was so yummy. My son wanted strawberry shortcake for his birthday and this was perfect. Everyone loved it! We ran out of strawberries so some of us just poured a little milk over it and it was delicious. I took the advice of other reviews and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, perfect! Great flavors, not to sweet and loved the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I cut this recipe in half, with 1 egg and almond milk baked it at 350* for 25mins. Till light golden. It was so light and fluffy. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Omg this this recipe is so yum! I put cinnamon instead of nutmeg...its very similar to a snickerdoodle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie O'Herin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this several times. My husband and I love it. Best I ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States