Old-Fashioned Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This was really fabulous. We all loved it. The nutmeg was perfect. I followed the recipe as written except for cooking it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Beautiful color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I have used this recipe for two years now, every strawberry season. The only thing I change is I use cinnamon instead of nutmeg (My husband hates nutmeg. Hope to try it someday with it.), and I double the cinnamon. I have no problems with the baking time and temp as other reviewers have had. I think this is so good you can eat it on it's own. The only thing I would tell someone trying this for the first time is the recipe says to pour the batter into the pan. You can not pour this, it is a soft dough that you press into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carlinville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! This is an easy-to-make, tasty shortcake recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as it was stated, only change is that I added a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon & baked it at 350 (mainly because our oven over bakes too easily at higher temps). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Omg this this recipe is so yum! I put cinnamon instead of nutmeg...its very similar to a snickerdoodle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie O'Herin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it just as written and the nutmeg flavor is wonderful. This will be my go-to recipe for strawberry shortcake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was so yummy. My son wanted strawberry shortcake for his birthday and this was perfect. Everyone loved it! We ran out of strawberries so some of us just poured a little milk over it and it was delicious. I took the advice of other reviews and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, perfect! Great flavors, not to sweet and loved the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I cut this recipe in half, with 1 egg and almond milk baked it at 350* for 25mins. Till light golden. It was so light and fluffy. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess_whitenight
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I love this recipe!!! I will never buy store cakes again!!! It's so easy, and they taste amazing! This was the first time I have made the recipe at my new house but 15 minutes was a little to long, but for my other oven it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly (except I added 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg instead of a 1/4) and it came out so perfect! I didn't have to adjust the temp or the time and it still came out evenly cooked. Definitly the best strawberry shortcake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
My favorite spring/summer dessert! This recipe is so good! If I'm making it for my husband (diabetic), I substitute most of the sugar with Splenda. I love it so much I'll eat the whole pan myself. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Schneider

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States