Old-Fashioned Sea Foam Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I tried making this twice and it never turned out. I used a different seafoam recipe, first time had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Our sea foam did not turn out well. We made more of a hard candy then light chalky candy. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I just wanted to let everyone know that there is a special knack to making this candy. I myself cannot make it. I've burn many batches. Now my husbands Aunt follows this recipe and makes the BEST seafoam. So I'm thinking its a candy not everone can master. Oh well.....I'll try try and try again. But this recipe does work...just not for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was not a very good recipe, the foam turned out hard as a rock, it was gross tasting and just not right at all. I have tried one with egg whites and it turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with you guys! I loved this candy! Although, I did have to grease the pan a lot for the candy to even come out! This was definitly a big problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Even though I heavily greased the pan, I could not get the candy out. I was very disappointed, but not as much as my husband - he'd been dying for this treat! I wound up having to soak the pan in HOT water for hours to melt the candy. Plus the little chips of candy I managed to carve out didn't taste "right".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I also had a terrible failure. I did overcook it just slightly, but the texture was really really wrong.. instead of light and crisp and chalky like it's supposed to be, it was very heavy and and the bubbles were larger and fewer than they should have been, and the texture reminded me a little of stale cereal. Eww. I'm going to try a recipie with egg whites this time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
I so wanted to make this candy, it is my sister's favorite from the candy shops. I tried it four times and each time it was a disaster! I have no idea what I did wrong, I stared at the candy thermometer the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States