Old-Fashioned Sea Foam Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I just wanted to let everyone know that there is a special knack to making this candy. I myself cannot make it. I've burn many batches. Now my husbands Aunt follows this recipe and makes the BEST seafoam. So I'm thinking its a candy not everone can master. Oh well.....I'll try try and try again. But this recipe does work...just not for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I think this recipe came out fine! We made it several times with no p[roblem, broken it up and dipped it in almond bark to fill tin's for Christmas presents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
In fairness to MARBALET, some of yours don't turn out as expected not because her recipe is wrong or you're doing it wrong. It's because you're talking about 2 different kinds of seafoam candy. One that is white, chalky and smooth made with eggwhites to look like meringue pillows... and one that is toffee-like, crunchy that is the center of a crunchie or violet crumble bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
In my neck of the woods, this is called Sponge candy. It can be tricky to make. We found an easier way instead of using a buttered pan. We put wax paper on a cookie sheet. We have a piece of bendable metal that we use like a mold. We pour the mixture onto the cookie sheet and immediately wrap the mold around it and let it set up overnight (we use binder clips to hold it together. Turns out great. Also, use the best dark chocolate you can afford to dip it in. It makes it that much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
There are a couple good tips for making this type of candy. #1. Don't make it on a humid or rainy day, it just will not turn out properly. #2. Always have a fresh box of baking soda, it makes the candy more sponge-like. Stale soda won't make it foam up as much as it should to be light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSY32

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with you guys! I loved this candy! Although, I did have to grease the pan a lot for the candy to even come out! This was definitly a big problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made a few changes - Cook to 300 and I used 1 Tablespoon of baking soda - sift or stir well to crush any small lumps before adding to sugar mix. I also lined my pan with aluminum foil and sprayed with Pam. The candy was easy to release. I used chocolate almond bark for my dipping chocolate. Store in covered tin in a cool place. I've been buying this at the local candy store for years - now I can make my own. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So I made this as written and came out with a layer on the bottom that's like brittle and a layer on top that is what I imagine traditional seafoam candy to taste like (I've never actually had it so I'm guessing here). After thinking it over and looking at a few other versions, I don't think the measurement of 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda is correct. Others with identical measurements of the sugar and liquid ingredients indicate to add as much as two tablespoons of baking soda. I wonder if this might be the problem some have had. Definitely not a recipe for beginners but there's potential here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this recipe twice, following the directions EXACTLY. Both times it failed. It ended up like peanut brittle. I found a different recipe off a wedding site that was pretty much the same except it called for 2 tablespoons of baking soda instead on 1/2. It puffed up perfectly and stayed puffed up long enough to cool. Give it a try. Maybe it will work for you also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Followed recipie exactly. Turned out like peanut brittle. Flavor was too much vinigar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States