Old Fashioned Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I'm not a vegetarian by any means, but every once in a while I like a change. So, i tried this recipe, and am VERY glad that I did! It was very simple, quick, and delicious! I baked it in a round cake pan, and cut it in wedges to serve. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Not much taste - might as well have heated a can of tomatoes. I might experiment with red pepper flakes, garlic, or something to spice it up..It certainly is easy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I did not like this at all, maybe because I don't really care for canned tomatoes I guess. My husband liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was a good side dish. I did use stuffing mix instead of the crackers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is an excellent tomato side dish. We aren't vegetarians, but anyone can enjoy this! It's great served with the Baked Salmon Filets Dijon in the Seafood section of Allrecipes. The flavors melded very well. Serve with rice pilaf and you have a fantastic meal everyone will enjoy! C. Ferris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe, but I took it as a basic one, for me to fiddle with as I like. Dried parsley for me is akin to hay in flavour, so for me, fresh herbs from the garden (mixed in with the tomatoes) are a must. I have also made this not just with crushed crackers, but also diced French bread, and stuffing mix, and different cheeses. I have stopped draining the tomatoes, too, and just add a little more saltines or whatever. It is a great side dish to ANYTHING, and we love to make a meal of this with just some poached eggs and toast. My youngest calls it "lasagna", and leftovers are good on toast for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I expected the crackers to be a little less soggy and the top to be a little more crispy. This recipe would be great if only it was crunchier. Never made anything like this.......glad I tried it even though we didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Since I didn't have the 28 oz can of tomatoes on hand I used 2-14.5 oz. cans. In the future I wouldn't drain them since I found the finished dish a little dry. Also I would add just a little sugar to cut the acid taste of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States